Just..

The week rattles along like a steady rocking freight train. Homework, dinner, work, showering, political shows, work meetings, gathering documents to renew the boys’ Dutch passports, new tires for the van, vacuuming, laundry, dishwasher load and unload, reload, dinner out…then suddenly, the weekend. We plan on going up and seeing my daughter, her husband and my year old grandson. Did you know I was a grandmother, an oma?

First time I got to hold my precious two pound wonder. He’s still small but nothing like this. I hear he is talking. We practice “OOOOmmmaaa” over and over again when we are together. I am hoping this is the weekend I will hear it from his rosebud lips. He is a gorgeous redhead like his mother, with her blue eyes though shaped like his father’s.

The tick of the clock. Soft snores across the bed. The dog moves her old bones restlessly on the floor, looking for that elusive comfortable position. She stubbornly eschews dog beds.

October clicks by, blindly ruthless. I’m looking for something. Waiting for something. I’m tired of waiting. I am not sure if I need to find it or it will find me.

Time to read until sleep pulls my eyes closed.

Log in to write a note
October 14, 2017

Hello there Oma! Love little red-heads – so adorable!

October 14, 2017

This entry feels like October to me, can’t say exactly why.

October 14, 2017

What a beautiful entry! And darling grandchild. And fabulous Atwood quote.

October 15, 2017

Smiling…hope he says it. We’ve got lots of redheads around here! Love little gingers!

October 19, 2017

Beautiful!