I Need To Lose Weight

One of my main goals in life is to attract the woman I want into my life.  I’ve been doing some reading up on this, and I’ve found that most women want a guy who is his accurate BMI.  I am six feet tall and currently weigh in at 118kg.  Ideally, my weight should be somewhere between 80 – 85kg.

My weight loss journey starts with dealing with why I put on weight in the first place.  Back in 2001, I was in love with a woman whom I wanted to spend the rest of my life with.  Unfortunately, she was not in a good headspace to be able to commit to a romantic relationship and she lied to her parents about me attacking her one night – and she was 27 years old at the time and still living with them.

That betrayal of my trust in her sent me onto a downward spiral of self-loathing and a strong feeling of not being good enough for her.  I started to pig out on junk food and overeat as well as cut back on exercising regularly.  Over the next 20 years, my weight went from 95kg – 118kg.  I’ve had a couple of other short-term girlfriends from 2003/4 and 2012, but was unhappy in the relationships.  Although I don’t classify myself as a misogynist or an incel, I turned to other sources to get my fix of sexual enjoyment only to feel unfulfilled by them.

This year, I changed doctors and during my medical checkup with my new doctor, he told me that I have a high chance of developing diabetes in later life if I don’t make changes to my lifestyle now.

The months of April – August were a very tough time for me, and I started becoming even more sedentary and constantly snacking on junk food whilst out on deliveries at work.  However, I realize that this is not benefiting me in any shape or form and need to do something about it before it gets out of control.

I have signed up with Snap Fitness in Spring Hill, and decided that instead of blowing $20 a time on fast food, I can spend that on getting my weight down and working out.  Two of my biggest flaws in life have been not able to keep my stomach and wallet in proper shape.  Even at the age of 50, I don’t think it’s too late to do anything about it.

I want to be be doing the Bridge To Brisbane walk this year to raise money for the Queensland Brain Institute, and need to get in shape for it.  Additionally, I have also been using the Bible app on my iPhone for inspiration as to how to do the regimen and what to be prepared for on my weight loss journey.  It’s not going to be easy, but it is possible.

Taking the journey is like the old question “How do you eat an elephant?” Answer: Piece by piece.  Don’t try doing everything all at once and expect miraculous results.  It takes patience and persistence and self-discipline.  Once you start and get down to your ideal weight, you need to keep the pressure on yourself to keep the weight off instead of resting on your laurels.

I’m using the FitBit app to track what exercises I do and share them with my friends.

This coming month, I will be sharing more of my story on OD so hit that sub button and notifications if you want to join me on it.

Log in to write a note
September 27, 2021

All the best to being healthy and fit! Gentle reminder, it’s not the number on the weighing scale that matters. What matters is how energetic and happy and healthy you FEEL !

September 27, 2021

@journalsecret Thanks, Forest Queen.  🙂