Heart-shaped…tub? Utah trip, with PHOTOS!

Man, I wish I had gotten a picture of that room. But, I’ll get to that. green river, utah

So, I went to Utah last week to visit The Boy and his Americorps team. I had an phenomenal time!

On Thursday, I had to get up at the ass crack of dawn to fly out of La Guardia. Had a connection in Dallas. Flew over the Rockies and landed in Grand Junction, Colorado. It was a beautiful flight. The pilot between NYC and Dallas ended up landing the plane an hour earlier than scheduled so I had extra time to get to my connection. I’m thankful for that since traveling two months after knee surgery isn’t easy. I had a beautiful drive between Grand Junction and Green River, Utah. Coming from a girl that’s never left the east coast…it was an absolutely phenomenal experience just seeing everything for the first time. I got to the hotel at about 2:30 and they checked me in immediate. We booked the "deluxe king suite" which, ah, came with a heart shaped tub in the room.

I got cleaned up after my very long travel day and went to meet The Boy and his team at the construction site they’re working on. He was covered in concrete, so there was no slow-mo running into each others arms. More so me going "Ew. Get away. I just showered." Had dinner with the team that night so I got to meet everyone. I don’t like talking about people that aren’t part of my daily life here, so I’ll just say that they’re all what I expected, more or less, and there were no big personality shocks. 

Friday was a surprise for me. I was under the assumption that I had most of the day to myself since he had to get up at 6am and go to PT and then work until 5pm. We went to bed semi-early on Thursday night, and warches national park - double archhen I woke up at 6:10am and saw that Adam wasn’t away yet, I rolled over, frantically woke him up, just for him to surprisingly say "Oh, I took the day off to spend with you."

After I beat him we went back to sleep for a few hours and then got up and had a fun-filled day. He brought me all around Green River, I met a lot of the kids he worked with at the elementary school and the community center. He also showed me around the area so I got to see some crazy Buttes and the site of a Geyser. We also found of that the little rental car I had was a hardcore off-roading beast. I’m very proud of that little Nissan Versa and what we put it through!

Saturday was the "big" day of touristy stuff. We went to Dead Horse State Park, Arches National Park and Canyonlands National Park. We also spent some time in Moab and found a winery in the middle of nowhere along the Colorado River. It’d be hard to describe the day. Mostly, it was a lot of driving, us stopping, taking 359282498 pictures, going "Ohh, ahh" and then getting in the car, driving a lot, stopping, and doing it all over again. I got a lot of beautiful photos out of it, and I did get to see the mini-grand canyon. Oh, and sunset over a canyon. Overall, it was amazing.

Sunday was a pretty bust day. We drove out to see some Petroglyphs and an old ghost town, but other than that we spent out last day in the hotel room drinking wine out of plastic cups and watching a scary movie. I couldn’t have asked for a better ending!
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note