New Phase of Life

 

Well, it’s official. I’m moving to Western New York. I’m one of the few people in the undergraduate class of 2010 that is walking across the stage at graduation with a job waiting on the other side. Honestly, I’m shocked, proud, and a bit scared! I also know and appreciate just how lucky it is that I was able to find a job in my field before graduation.

The position is good. I’ll doing e-commerce advertising and design for a small start up company. I’ll be starting on May 13th. The deal is that I’ll go out between my last classes and finals and work from the 13th-17th on his launch and will return for finals and graduation. My new boss is paying for me to stay at a hotel during these days since I most likely will not have time to figure out housing. I’ll then move back on May 24th officially, get settled, and move in to my new place.

The new place thing…well. I’m going out on Monday to look at some apartments. Hopefully I find something and can come home that day knowing where I’ll be living in three weeks…because right now? I have no clue! 

I’m excited and apprehensive and nervous and scared all at the same time. For some reason, this move scares me more than my move to New York City two years ago. I think maybe because it’s really the start of a new phase in my life. For one, I’m only going out there because The Boy is doing his PhD program there. I’m essentially going to be alone for most of the summer. Yeah, he has friends out there but I doubt they’ll be around during the summer. I had to get out of here soon, though. I’m drowning in a financial hole and absolutely need a stable full time job. Plus, this move means that we’re so much closer than we’ve ever been to finally being able to be together for more than a week at a time. Unfortunately, his side of the family is not as receptive to this move mine. I’m not sure of the details, but I guess his mother is less than happy with the prospect of him moving in with me. I don’t know why, but it has been an ongoing situation for a while now.

Thankfully, I have my family’s support on this move. Right now, I’m not sure what I would do without them. They’re really saving my ass. See, when I had my surgery in January, I went on a month leave from work. This was nothing shocking, they had known since September that I was going to be having surgery over winter break. I managed to create a substantial savings for moving and was happy to say that I was financially stable for the first time in a long time. Well, when I was healed enough to return to work I was told they couldn’t afford to pay me and they subsequently slashed my hours down to less than a 1/4 of what I was making beforehand.

No matter how hard I tried, I was left with nothing in savings by the end of this hellish trip down the semi-unemployment road. 4 hours a week…really? REALLY? So, now I’m left with the lovely task of trying to come up with money to move 4.5 hours away in 3 weeks with a job that’s not paying me, a completely depleted savings account, and a boyfriend in AmeriCorps until July. The Boy was able to come up with a substantial amount and my Mom and Step Dad are loaning me the rest until I can get back on my feet. At least I can get out there now! 

This is definitely going to be an adventure. I’ve done some crazy things and crazy moves in a few short weeks but this is going to be a whole ‘nother ball park. Starting a full time job, finishing class projects, taking finals, looking for apartments, starting a full time job, and moving 4.5 hours away in a span of less than three weeks! Oy vey.

Wish me luck! 
 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 1, 2010

congrats! so excited for you!!!!