Home Sweet Home **picture heavy**

Well, it’s official. The Boy and I have secured our first apartment. My first out-of-college apartment. I’m moving in on May 20th and he’s moving in on August 1st after AmeriCorps.

Here are photos that we took Monday of the apartment and the area we’ll be living. A one bedroom apartment that’s about 700 sq. ft with 12 foot ceilings and crown molding. Heat, trash, and water is included in the rent, all we’ll be paying is rent and electric. Ceramic tiles in the kitchen and bathroom and thin-planked oak floors in the rest of the apartment. The rooms are absolutely huge! The bedroom is probably 14×18 and the living room is easily 18×18. Kitchen is around 8×9 and it has a small bathroom. Unfortunately, the fireplace is only decorative…but I think we’ll managed! 😉 I drove to UofR today to time The Boy’s commute and it’ll probably take about 10 minutes for him to get to class.

We’ve got two major galleries within walking distance from the house…which is great for inspiration! There’s also a science museum down the street with a planetarium. The Boy said it’s a kids museum but it’s still really cute to walk around. Another cool thing is that the house is in the historic preservation di strict so it must be well maintained at all times…which is a nice plus!


Kitchen (previous tenant’s decorations)

 
Living Room (previous tenant’s decorations)


Decorative fireplace in living room


Opposite end of living room from fireplace


Bow window in the bedroom


Double closet in bedroom


Street view (the house is in the upper right corner)


Steps into the house’s foyer

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2010

Damn, my first apartment wasn’t that nice. It’s beautiful. Congratulations and good luck.

May 10, 2010

Ryn: I’d have to agree with the moth balls. That’s probably the smell I hate most. And it completely reminds me of my mother.

May 19, 2010

Gorgeous! I love the architecture. Congratulations!