So this is it.

 

Well, it’s here. I didn’t know it’d happen this soon but here we are. I’m graduating in 7 days. I’m moving in 4 days. I start work in 8 days in my first "real-life after college" job.

Shit.

I don’t really know what to do with myself right now. I have a two finals on Tuesday and need to study for them, but other than that I’m packed and ready to go. All I have to do now is wait for Thursday morning to roll around and move my stuff to Rochester. It’s…scary. I don’t know why. I’ve done big moves like this before. I up and moved myself to New York City for 2 years. I doubt Rochester could be any more threatening than that. I think it’s that I’m taking that step away from school. After being in a school setting of some sort for the last 18 years it seems like a huge step.

In some ways, I wish The Boy were with me for this transition, but at the same time I’m glad he’s not going to be there for two months. I think I need an adjustment period without him. If he were there for the "beginning"  of my transition I think I’d become extremely dependent on him. This is a good way for me to get acclimated in Rochester without dependency on him emotionally and socially. It also gets me situated before he moves in and has to adjust to life after AmeriCorps and starting his PhD program. I know he hasn’t thought about what life would be after he gets out of the program. I think he feels like it’ll just be getting back into his old routine but I don’t really think he realizes what an affect this program has had on him. He’s going to be going from living with 9 other people every day, working with them, hanging out with them…to just being with me and going to school. I hope between now and then he prepares himself for that change. Knowing him, he probably won’t. Haha.

Other than than, there’s really not much going on. I picked up my cap and heftybag…uh…gown…the other day. I also got my tickets for the ceremony. Now all that’s left to do is get through Tuesday and then I’m officially done.

Wow. Done.
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 16, 2010

I’m from the Rochester are and trust me..it’s not that threatening..especially compared to NYC lol. but good luck1 sounds like you’re on an exciting new adventure!

May 17, 2010

ohmygooooood YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! congrats on everything! everything will fall into place the way it was meant to, i promise 🙂

May 17, 2010

Let me just tell you one thing that I hope you will find encouraging: Rochester is bloody awesome. I suppose I’m biased, because I live here, but it’s true. Okay, the weather’s temperamental, but most of the people are really friendly, and it’s overall not a bad town. 😀 If you ever need to know a good pizza place or something, let me know. 🙂 Best of luck with your new job and congratulations!

May 17, 2010

RYN: That’s how mine is, too. He’ll swear in his sleep when I shove him. xD I was just at RIT a couple weeks ago for their anime con. (Because I’m a giant nerd :B) I love the art district, though! I’ve been looking for a place near there or in the Wedge, but my sister and I gave up on the apt search and are gonna try to buy a house instead. xD

May 18, 2010

Congrats. Why was 5 years ago shi++y?

May 18, 2010

RYN: Ooh, that’s not bad at all! The apt above Equal Grounds on South Ave is for rent for 750, but it’s a 1-bedroom and I wouldn’t be able to afford it without a roomie. >: Oh well. Sheesh, post-doctorate is over-achieving, but very impressive. I hope you guys find something awesome to do!! 😀