12 days of nojomo

An old friend from high school messaged me on Facebook late last night.  She’s someone I used to be very close to… she was one of my best friends from about 7th grade to 10th or 11th.  But sometime after high school graduation, I stopped talking to her.

More or less on purpose.

We kind of drifted apart a bit naturally, and as we tried to get together from time to time after decent absences apart, I started to realize she was rather self-absorbed and not that much fun to be around.

Unfortunately, not much has changed.  

I welcomed her IM with an open heart and was kind of excited about the idea of rekindling our friendship.  Especially since she started the conversation by telling me she really missed me, and I thought that was sweet.

But in the 30-45 minutes we chatted, she didn’t once ask me about my life.  She talked about herself, she talked about her siblings, her husband, her life.  She talked about memories of high school and how our friendship used to be.  But she never asked me a single thing about how I’ve been, about my life in New York, about my fiancee.  

Not much has changed.

But it made me think about the type of friend I’ve been to some people, or used to be.  And I’m 100% certain I have acted that way with some people.  I’m pretty sure I used to be extremely self-absorbed.  I hope that I have changed.  I feel like I have, at least.

And it made me think about other friends I’ve lost touch with that I miss and have reached out to, only to not really have them reach back.  The same way in which I have no real interest in reaching back to this friend.  It makes me wonder if those people look at me the same way I look at her – it was nice to know you but I have no real interest in ever speaking to you again.

And that kind of sucks.

Log in to write a note

okay, who was it?! lol there’s a couple people it could be…I basically feel that way about everyone we went to school with.

November 13, 2011

ryn: Haha, I wish!! 🙂

dude, she married eddie shaw?! I don’t know why but that is so weird to me. I totally stalked her on fb, haha. I like the purple. yea just let me know when you want to go. my mom could probably watch the kids so Chloe isn’t running around to all the dresses. I SERIOUSLY better be a 6-8, because that’s what I was before Logan.

nope don’t talk to anyone else. few of em are on fb but thats it. oh I had forgotten that allison dated him! I always thought amelia was weird. Yess, you should totally have a baby, its awesome. Would you work after having a baby or stay home?

sounds good, I’ll let you know for sure bout the 26th soon, thats the twins birthday and I dont know if cindy’s going to do something ON their birthday since its winter break or if it will be on the next weekend.

yea one of those days would prob be better 🙂 Let me know which one works for you and I’ll pass it along to my mom so she can pencil me in her calender. lol. Oh if I need alterations I’m going to get my aunt to do it, she did my wedding dress and the bridesmaid dress for heather’s wedding I ended up missing so no worries on getting it done on time for the wedding

I’ll just meet you at DB that day, 11 is cool with me. I will probably go by work either before or after (prob after b/c more people will be at work in the afternoon) since its out that way too so it makes more sense just to drive my car so I don’t have to go all the way back to my moms and then back into the city.

I think we all have the tendency to be self-absorbed if we’re not careful. I try to be really mindful of that. Even here on OD, it’s so easy to read an entry and be all, “Oh, let me tell you MY story” and then ramble on about myself instead of commenting on what the person actually wrote. Not that it’s wrong to do that, but I try not to let that be the ONLY way I note, if that makes sense.

November 16, 2011

thanks for the reminder, random girl. i mean COME ON that is ridiculous.

November 16, 2011

i hit save too soon- you may have done a variation of that, but i know you well enough to know that you aren’t THAT self centered. you aren’t any more self absorbed than the rest of us. i love you