R.I.P, Stella…

Very very sad news… Stella died this afternoon. We knew she couldn’t get better, and she actually hung on for WAY longer than anyone expected — and did amazingly well to be such a sick little cat–but it doesn’t make it any easier. She pretty much quit eating the last two days, and was already skin and bones (at one time she weighed 16 pounds– she was way too fat. Baker B weighed her a couple of nights ago and she was 9 pounds). She spent most of her time lying on a heating pad- she was extremely anemic, on top of having kidney failure and probably had a tumor. Every time the vet did bloodwork on her the numbers were all over the place. If it had just been kidney failure we probably could have kept her going for years with the fluids, but the additional problems were just too much.

But the good thing is that she was never in pain, and we didn’t have to make that awful decision to put her to sleep. We’d decided as long as she was not suffering we’d do all we could to keep her going. Within reason– we could have gotten blood transfusions for the anemia, every four or five days, which would have been traumatic for her and traumatic for us and probably would have sent us into bankruptcy on top of only being a stopgap if she did have cancer. The vet mentioned that as about the only thing we could do, not as something we should do. She’s a really great vet and will always tell you when you’ve done all you can. 

So we made her a little bed with a heating pad and a baby blanket, and she’s spent most of her time on that for the past week or so. Although Baker B let her go sit on the deck yesterday and today — and sat with her so she wouldn’t take off, although she was too weak to make a dash for freedom– because she loved going outside and has been wanting to, but we have of course said absolutely not since she’s been so sick. The last couple of days she’s been purring like mad too, often for no apparent reason. And has been getting to eat as many Fancy Feast Appetizers as she wanted for months. So she got to do the things she loved to do, and she got to die here. 

Too depressing to write any more about it. So I’ll just post some Stella pictures. It’s very hard to get used to the idea of life without Stella. 

Curled up in a comforter to stay warm-

On her heating-pad bed with sweet little Eddie curled up beside her. Eddie is such a little Caretaker Cat. He was always going up to her and giving her headbumps and washing her face. I’d actually been covering her up with the blue towel he’s lying on but she’d gotten out from under it. 

And Cayce checking up on her too –

Happier times, and a much pudgier Stella:

In the jeans drawer-

Quite a few years ago on the fishy bathmath:

Even more years ago, when she was a kitten-

With Baker B, who is looking awfully young there himself-

]

Three cat pileup on the spare bed very recently:

Log in to write a note

I’m sorry for your loss. She was a beautiful girl.

She’s beautiful. Truly beautiful.

September 22, 2012

I know how much this hurts. I lost my Pigeon boy a few months ago. It just freakin’ hurts. I love your Eddie. He’s a beauty.

September 22, 2012

Aw, so sorry to hear this. Having lost four great cats in the last eight years, I understand completely how you feel right now.

September 22, 2012

Oh, I’m so sorry about Stella. What a beautiful cat she was, such unusual, pretty colouring. No cat could have asked for a more loving home. She will be missed by all of us here too. Love,

September 22, 2012

That photo of her with her legs crossed is beyond cute.

Condolences,

September 22, 2012

I’m so sorry for your loss. My eyes teared up reading this post, as I know how much it hurts. 🙁 Stella was a beautiful cat and I’m sure she knew how much she was loved. You gave her a wonderful life. My heart goes out to you. May she rest in peace. (Hugs) xo,

September 23, 2012

How heartbreaking for you! She was such a pretty kitty…. =^.n.^= Take gentle care ~

I am so sorry for your loss. She was clearly a wonderful and much-loved little being.

September 23, 2012

I’m sorry. She was a beautiful cat.

September 23, 2012

Oh! I am so sad and sorry. Glad she was with you both at home. My two send their condolences as well. The picture of her as a kitten with Baker B. is adorable. I ache for the space I know this leaves in both of your lives.

Everyone has to die, so at least this was the ‘best’ way to go and least painful (for you and her), though I don’t know how old she was. I think it’s better that cats live shorter lives than us. I’d hate to think what would happen to my cats or how sad and lost they’d be if I died before them.

September 23, 2012

I know exactly how you feel. She was beautiful and I know you will miss her. So will Cayce and Eddie–they’ll walk around looking for her and meowing for her for a while. I’m so sorry you lost her, but she’s still with you in your memories. {{{Hugs}}}

September 23, 2012

Oh I am so sorry for your loss but sounds like she departed in the best way possible, thanks to you. What a lovely girl she was, and it’s apparent how much you loved her.

September 23, 2012

i read your title and said “OH NOOOO” but i’m so glad she went peacefully and at home, surrounded by love. xoxoxoxo

September 23, 2012

so sorry!! She had a wonderful home and loving family…*hugs* I dread the day my 16+ yr old diabetic kitty crosses over…

September 23, 2012

i’m so sorry. they are our heart companions

September 23, 2012

How heartbreaking. I’m so sorry for your loss. You gave Stella a good life. She never knew hardship. **HUGS**

You guys gave her the best possible end of days she could have wished for, but I know losing a furry family member just rips your heart out as much as losing any other kind. Hugs and love to you both!

September 23, 2012

I’m so sorry!!! I know you’re hurting!

September 23, 2012

Poor Stella. It’s lovely that she had such great final days though.

September 23, 2012

so sorry.

I’m so sorry for your loss. She was well loved.

September 24, 2012

Hugs,

September 24, 2012

So sorry about Stella. She was a beauty!

She was really beautiful, and I’m so very sorry that you lost her. My heart is hurting for you.

September 24, 2012

I’m so sorry. We certainly know this pain in our household this week and send you lots of love and hugs. xxoo,

September 25, 2012

I’m sorry to see that you’ve lost Stella. It looks as tho your cats were a very happy trio.

life is a gift wrapped in love.

September 25, 2012

So I’ve been thinking about you both constantly since you posted this and have been trying to send comforting energy all the way your way day by day. I know this is rough.

i’m so sorry for your loss. hugs hugs hugs.

September 25, 2012

I am so sorry your beloved Stella is gone. I’m still not over losing our two oldest cats recently, so I well understand how you are feeling.

September 26, 2012

sorry to hear

{{{{{hugs}}}}}

September 27, 2012

I’m sorry Stella’s gone.

EWS
September 27, 2012

RYN: How much was the subscription for? Eric

September 27, 2012

Oh Beth my heart sank when I saw that title – I’m filling up – and so sorry! How lovely that she spent such happy last days with you though and not in any pain – also that you didn’t have to make that awful horrible decision so many cat owners have to make. She was a truly beautiful cat and you’ll miss her terribly.

EWS
September 27, 2012

RYN: I applied your subscription. Your current expiration date is 9/27/2013 10:06:31 PM. Eric

RYN: Pffft. The thing that’s worrying is obviously America can change the world in an instant. Someone gets in and starts wars, the world changes. You get someone like George W Bush in and hope you can get through the 4 years, but in only 1 year he starts World War III and endangers the entire planet, then wins the next election because the Liberals put up such an awful candidate, so 4 more years.

October 1, 2012

ryn:I was so sad to get through Season Five of Doc Martin. It is bad enough having to wait forever for True Blood darn it. I started Ballykissangel but somehow got distracted after the second season I think. It is hard to describe exactly the real life similarity between Mr. Finch and the Doc Martin character. A certain predicability for sure, very regular in their habits and that Patrician bearing but mostly a callousness in manner and yet at the same time weirdly endearing. It is a fascinating fine line. Let me know when you finish the season and we shall compare notes.

I’m so very sorry for your loss. Stella was just beautiful and I am sure she was a very sweet cat because she had very sweet parents.

October 20, 2012

I’m so sorry. I was away when this happened, so have only seen it now. Our “deck cat”, who was really the neighbours’ cat, died a couple of years ago and he purred like crazy the last couple of days.

April 19, 2013

so sorry to read this. She was such a beautiful cat. How do you end up with all the beautiful cats? I loved the pictures of her as a kitten. You cant really tell how thin she is by the pictures.