Nurse days

I finally started working as nurse, and I’m sure most people don’t know what to think about me. I’m a major sketchball, during the narc count I was paranoid about the count in because I wanted it to be perfect, considering my past and people know about it. The last thing I want to be is someones scapegoat for immoral behaviors. The supervisor from my previous employer is training me, he’s a riot. He understands me pretty well and takes my sarcasm well. It was a good day, but I feel like compared to being a cna it was verrry slow. The residents are so confused to if I’m putting them in bed or passing their pills, but I did good. I helped the aids put some people in and managed to get all the injections done. I also did my first ppd’s and they were beautiful, I got the wheel every single time.

On another note, a resident clocked me over a pb and j sandwhich, because she didn’t have one…

I’m losing a lot of weight from my job and eating less, I’ve dropped 12 lbs since I finished school.

My ex, the one i left over the abuse last week, came down today asking if he could take me out to dinner. Like an idiot I just told him to come in, slept with him and had him leave in the morning, because I’ve been so down the last few days. I’m not the smartest. I hate sleeping alone, I stay up all night thinking people are looking at me and then get sleep in too late. My windows are far too open and i need to measure the right length so ill have some curtains.

I’m going to have a ton of bills to pay, restitution, phone bill, car, violation fees, ticket payments…ect the whole ball game and I have jury duty on tuesday the same day as traffic court. I’m so excited. We’ll see how it goes because I cannot have more tickets on my license.

The funny misconception I’ve heard is that nurses with an ex drug problem shouldn’t be in nursing because it’s triggering. What triggering about it is being understaffed, underpayed and overworked. That’s why addiction runs so rapid. I’m sick, I have a bronchitis, so I’m going to stop writing. Goodnight yall

Log in to write a note
July 23, 2018

ugh, i have the ex sex problem,  I know i shouldnt but i give in.  I dont like to sleep alone either.

Im glad your first day was awesome!  Im about to start taking my prerequisites for the RN program, I’m excited

July 23, 2018

Congratulations on your first job as a nurse! The first year is the most difficult but as you probably know you have an edge because of your CNA work. Especially with a good mentor. Advice: Write everything down even if it seems silly, research disease process in your nursing books at home as you encounter them in your day, remember to take a deep breath. Good luck 🙂

August 3, 2018

Traffic court and jury duty on the same day…interesting development.