Video Arcade Black Hole

Today on Facebook a question was posed “What Arcade Game Did You Spend The Most Money Playing On?” My answer was immediate and without a doubt; “Tempest”. Has anyone ever played this game in an arcade? When I lived in NYC in the early 80s, I spent HOURS a day at Grand Central’s Arcade playing this game.

I had my first job at age 15 in NYC delivering chicken for a fried chicken fast-food restaurant. I would ride a bike with a large metal basket on the handlebars around Manhattan delivering my delicious packages to our patrons. Before my single mom lost her job, and I started helped her pay our bills, I used to spend ALL the money that I made from that job at the arcade. 😀

 

Log in to write a note
March 16, 2018

OMG yes. I blew SO MUCH MONEY on Tempest. I’d love to have all those quarters back!

Tempest was definitely the one I spent a lot of money on and never got really good at (Asteroids falls in that category too).

Joust was the one that frustrated me most, because my best friend was really good at it, and always beat me, 100% of the time.

But this one – Star Wars – that was my game. I could blow up the Death Star every time.

March 16, 2018

“What arcade game did you spend the most money playing on?”

Uhm……the answer is, “Yes”.   🙂