Nightmare

Had a nightmare. In it, I was forced to burn a book of a girl who was starved to death by her parents. There was also this monkey that came back to life who had been burned in a house fire. Another image flashed of a woman who’d been burned in the same house fire, laying dead in the house. Then it transitioned to a young man being beaten up by a mob of around 12 other boys – I intervened and choked out the ringleader. Afterward, the other boys dispersed.

It’s 5:30 in the morning. Not unusual for me to have nightmares, I have them fairly frequently. I usually do my best to forget them, but dreams are a source of inspiration – who knows, I may get a story idea from them someday, so I don’t see why I shouldn’t record them.

I used to interpret dreams for other people in middle and high school. They would write me a note, and I would write back with the dream interpretation. It was pretty crazy. I know what the dream means. Basically, it’s my desire to cut ties with my traumatic past. The book of the starved girl represents how I was starved for affection/attention/basic necessities as a child (neglect). The monkey represents my mind, and the house fire is my traumatic memories coming back to me. The mob represents my fears ‘beating up on me,’ and me choking out the ringleader is me wanting to take control of my fears.

Anyway, I’ll probably go back to sleep. Still tired.

Log in to write a note