DISAPPOINTED

We went over to our new condo and were disappointed. I guess you can expect that reaction from me!!!!!!!!!!! I am always negative. Well let me tell you all about it!
When we got to the condo they were still emptying some stuff. That was ok! They gave us the keys and showed us around.
So we started to walk through the condo. We found out there was a lot to do. We thought there were things missing that should be there but we weren’t sure! For example the condo had a lot of built – ins in the cupboards. It looked like some were missing. Of course what with our memories we could be wrong. The window treatments in the living dining room were gone. Also some of the fixtures. These were suppose to stay. Our agent will call to check. Then the most disappointing thing was that the huge storage room was filled with all kinds of CRAP! I don’t know when they will empty it. I wanted to start bringing things over. I’ve been packing boxes and running out of space to put the boxes. We have to keep this house ready for customers. The floors in the dining room was a mess on one side so will have to be repaired or replaced. The main bathroom needs major renovations. OY!!!!! In the kitchen the stove has to be replaced. They took the microwave…………………..it was expected. All the fixtures are gone so we’ll have to choose new ones. No big deal! One bathroom is ALL black. It may be the latest colour but I just can’t stand it.
So hubby called the electrician, the repair man and the painter. We are waiting for them to call back so we can make appointments. Wednesday I’m going over with the interior decorator so will have a better idea of what we should/ have to do.
So that’s it for now. We have a new condo but it will take awhile before we can call it home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

That IS disappointing! And a black bathroom, ew! Have you ever heard of Habitat for Humanity’s ReStore? They have building supplies, light fixtures, appliances at huge discounts because companies donate them. New ones I mean. I know they must have one in Montreal – I’ll bet you could get some good discounts. My dad loves them.

It sounds like they stripped the place. Kind of low. What fixtures do you mean? The light fixtures? A black bathroom would just be horrible.

Oh, I’m SO SORRY! You have every right to be disappointed and I surely hope your agent can get those built-ins back — THEY CAN’T LEGALLY DO THAT!

April 3, 2011

thats a pity but if they are still clearing it out just be patient and let them do it…they will probably leave the place spotless in the end. Often what we think are fixtures end up being free-standing shelves etc…thats life. But thinl how much fun you guys will have putting your own touch on things. Surely you’d want to do that anyway. hugs p

How disappointing! Funny, but I don’t perceive you as someone always seeing the negative. There’s a difference between being realistic and being pessimistic. I should know, my husband tells me that often enough about himself. LOL! I’m sure you’ve been told to check your contract. It should spell out exactly what was included with the purchase, up to and including window treatments, appliances, fixtures, etc. Black is going to be a difficult color to cover. I’ve only ever been in one house that had a room with black walls. All I can say is, “Ugggh!”

April 3, 2011

Moving is such a nightmare, I dislike it immensely. Hope it all works out.

April 4, 2011

how disappointing! look at your contract. that will tell you what would be left in the condo. but, since they are still clearing it out hopefully they will leave it spotless for you. take care,

April 4, 2011

Thta is a shame but you need to refer to the contract you signed and see what they were supposed to leave and/or take with them. Hope you get it worked out quickly. What an annoyance!

Oh, I hate that! My mom got a house that she was disapointed with that was such a money pit. I had a bad feeling about every house she looked at though… seems like no matter what one gets less than they thought, which is really really disapointing and stressful :< I’m sorry that you are going through that.