FOUND MONEY – EDITED!!!!!!!

MY HUSBAND WOULD NEVER GIVE ME THE MONEY TO PAY OFF MY DEBT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BELIEVE ME IF HE WOULD IT WOULD ALL GO TOWARDS MY DEBT WHICH I AM SO TIRED OF. I AM PAYING OFF AS MUCH AS I CAN EVERY WEEK, EVERY MONTH BUT IT WILL TAKE AWHILE. WHY DID I MAKE SO MUCH DEBT? BUYING STUFF MADE ME HAPPY FOR THE MOMENT. ALSO SOME OF THE DEBT WENT TOWARDS STUFF I NEEDED. I DIDN’T WANT TO ASK MY HUBBY FOR MONEY. I PAID FOR HANUKAH PRESENTS, HAIR DRESSER, CLOTHES ETC ETC. I NEVER KEPT TRACK BUT SHOULD HAVE. ANYHOW I AM WORKING ON MY DEBT AND OUR BUDGET ETC.

Last night my brother in law called. He’s the one I hate and will never see again as long as I can help it. Well believe it or not he owed us 5000 from over 20 years ago and he sent us a check for that amount. Can you believe it???????? I guess he could be proud of himself and feel honourable. It doesn’t impress me at all. I wish he had taken that money and done something special for my sister and himself. I still think he’s a bastard.
Anyhow I told my hubby it was found money and we should do something special with it – not just put it in the bank. SO WHAT DO YOU THINK? Am I wrong? Should we just use it to pay bills? IT’S NOT AS IF WE ARE BEHIND OR ANYTHING. Of course I am and it would be wonderful if he would give it to me so I can pay off some of my debt. I won’t suggest that but I think we should do something special. Maybe divide it in half? We both want new IPADS…………….
Waiting to hear your two cents. In the meantime I am going to continue with my crayon painting. We went into town and I bought some candles to try and some more small canvasses.
More later.

 


Log in to write a note
June 24, 2012

If your hubby would be willing to split the money with you my advice is the pay off your debts, get that monkey off your back once and for all and you will be a lot happier person. That’s my two cents for what it is worth.

Technically he owes you $5000 + 20 years of interest but still, that’s pretty amazing to unexpectedly get that amount of money!! I think you should DEFINITELY put all of it towards debt repayment. It feels so good to pay off debt – and isn’t your debt your main source of grief these days? Plus, if you pay off debt, you’ll be saving for an iPad instead of saving for credit card payments.

I’m sure you’ll agree that would be more motivating. This is your chance – you’ve been desperate to pay off debts, now you have a chance, don’t blow it on more stuff. That’s just my opinion and of course I don’t have the whole picture – I have no idea how much you owe, etc. I wonder what other suggestions you’ll get! 🙂

June 24, 2012

Paying off your debts is a big relief and that is what I would do with it. Maybe save a little out to spend but I’d put at least $4500 on bills and get them taken care of.

June 24, 2012

Oh please put it to your debt. Don’t get anything with it. You will feel so relieved!

I agree with the one lady that thinks he forgot 20 years of interest, but it is wonderful that he paid it back. I’d put it toward the credit card debt to get you out from under at least that much in interest. It would save you in the long run. (but I’d really want to buy me a iPad myself.)

June 24, 2012

I can only agree with everyone else. I think you would feel so good if you used it to pay off debt.

June 24, 2012

it’s not what you want to hear but pay off your debt—or at least put a big chunk of it towards it. Then, like someone else noted, you can save for an IPOD, get it and not owe any money.

June 24, 2012

a new ipad? It could be justified spending if you used it to clear debt. hugs p

June 24, 2012

Put it all I to the debt.

June 24, 2012

I would take 1/2 to pay down debt and the other can be used to buy something you need. Love,

June 24, 2012

I guess this is your chance to pay off your debt and be happy in the long run.

June 24, 2012

Pay off as much of your debt as possible. That will mean you aren’t paying out that money every month. That money can be saved for a new Ipad.

June 25, 2012

as it is money you thought you would never see again … use it all to pay off your debt. That thing about monkeys on backs is so true. Very best, A

June 25, 2012

I agree w/most everyone else. If you debt is that high, then definitely use the money to pay it down. But on a side note, why shouldn’t your husband be paying for hanukah presents, etc?

June 25, 2012

I’ve been wondering…doesn’t your credit card debt impact you and your husband’s credit rating? I don’t know how that works but here in the US it would if a couple is married.

June 25, 2012

If you get a new IPad, send your old one to me! I wdn’t. know what to do w/it, of course.

June 25, 2012

My vote? Pay off debts with all but $100 (if you put all $4900 toward debt) or $50 (if you put $2450 toward debt).