FRIENDS-OLD AND NEW

Today I spent the day with a variety of friends. It was a good/bad day. First thing I went with hubby to hit some balls. I enjoyed it and can see continuing although I don’t know now how far I will go. Wednesday he is going with a few other people so I won’t go. After we hit balls we went to out local delly for lunch. I had smoked meat. I ordered a large portion by mistake. Why do they put so much meat in the sandwich? One bite and the whole sandwich falls apart. Anyhow we ate. Then we went next door to buy bread. This bakery has really changed and I don’t like the changes but no one asked me. They put in prepared foods at the front of the store. I am sure they are giving the delly some serious competition.
Next we went home. I left immediately to visit one of my shut-in friends. It was a gorgeous day. We sat out on her balcony. I had to limit my visit because I wanted to get to the hospital.
I walked over to the hospital. Gratefully they are only a few blocks apart. My friend did not seem well at all. He was hallucinating. At times he forgot he was in the hospital and wanted to get out of bed. His eyes seemed to be staring at nothing and to me seemed to roll back. He moved his arms. He seemed to be shaking etc. To me it was seizures but I am NOT a doctor. They put a feeding tube into his stomach. The poor man wanted a peach of all things. I left there with a HEAVY heart.
I went to a reunion of my La Leche League friends. My friend lives in a fantastic house. She has a wonderful garden etc. She is an artist and showed me her studio and some paintings.
I drove two of my friends home and was here by ten. I am not sure if I will see my friend from Philadelphia again since we are going to the trailer tomorrow. I will take with my crocheting and will try to order my bike at Walmart. I still want one!!!!
I am debating of I should start quilting again. It is something I can do at the trailer as there is a quilting store closely. Maybe I’ll take my sewing machine there tomorrow.
I also want to make plans with my grandchildren for next week. I have to get the week organized. I guess I’ll speak to my son and his wife on Sunday! We are going out for supper for Mother’s Day.

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2013

I admire you for trying new things and having such a full life. ryn: the only weekend at the camp that’s dedicated to “boomers” is that one weekend. Somehow spending time with 20 and 30 somethings is not my idea of fun… I prefer people my own age.

May 10, 2013

Doesn’t sound good for your friend in the hospital at all. Prayers for him and his family. Unless you plan to use the sewing machine at home, I think it would be good to take to the trailer. Especially since there is a quilting store so close. That motivation may kick into high gear and you’ll be prepared to make something!