JUST SAD

Yesterday we went to friends for a brunch. There were a lot of people there from her building. Some I knew; most I didn’t. She served a delicious brunch. She made everything herself!

 

Free Blog Poll

After most people left there was just another friend and I. Well the friend who made the brunch talked to us about her brother’s daughter who is anorexic. Apparently it has been going on for over ten years. She’s 27 now. She has been to therapy but it is very expensive. The parents are financially drained. My friend read us a letter that her SIL wrote her begging for money to help pay for more therapy. She wanted my friend to send it to all her friends etc. My friend is retired! She called Dr. Laura who told her to NOT NOT send any money. Personally I don’t think it would help. What is your two cents? It’s fine to help but when you know it will not help……………………

Anyhow we came home about four. I had a nap, did some washing and some crocheting. I wanted to go to the hospital but in the end I was too lazy. I will go later today.

Log in to write a note
June 2, 2013

anorexia is a terrible disease but there is help for her out there. hugs p

June 3, 2013

There is help out there, I do not like the idea of begging for money from people. It is one thing to state facts of what is happening but for the family to ask for money is a bit crude. Love,

I agree with Dr. Laura, but that is a difficult position to be put in! Hard enough for the parents of the young woman, but for the friend, too? The parents must feel helpless.