PREJUDISM

I know that there is a lot of prejudism in the world. I am sure every day someone is killed because of it. Maybe thousands. I won’t claim to be innocent. I think a lot of it has to do with ignorance. A lot of it has to do with the way we are brought up. Prejudism is sadly passed down from one generation to another. 
I don’t understand how some people spend their whole lives trying to destroy the people they hate. Is that not a waste of a life? Can they not just get on with their own lives? Should we take the babies away until the generation is not prejudiced anymore. That’s certainly one solution.
I for one live my life. I don’t concern myself with the people who live beside me, are in the store with me etc. I have my own problems and my own things to manage.
I know there are many places where people live together and they go on with their lives. It is so wonderful to go to a concert, a park etc. and see that people of all races, creeds, religions, colours etc. are having fun and/ or just doing what they have/want to. I don’t know why prejudism doesn’t show up in those places. For example if you go to a restaurant there might be people from all over the world sitting beside you.
I don’t know what it would take to get rid of prejudism. I just know that as a Jewish person I am very aware of prejudism. I can’t understand why people hate us and where did it come from. I know that I personally would never give up my life because of prejudism. LIVE AND LET LIVE!!!!!!!!!

 

 

Log in to write a note

Americans can not be ostriches. We do NEED to care who is in the store next to us and who lives next to us WHEN those people show signs of possible terrorism. One of the reasons that they were able to destroy the world trade center is due to prejudice in reverse. No one bothered to QUESTION those people that wanted to learn how to fly the planes but not learn how to land them. It is possible that no one questioned them because they were afraid it would look like prejudice IF someone questioned them or if someone investigated them? Common sense needs to return to America and Americans must learn that it is OKAY to question people and it is OKAY to investigate EVEN if it might LOOK like prejudice to someone else, we need to get common sense back to our country. We need to not worry about what LOOKS like prejudice when it comes to profiling for security reasons. And we need to get back to asking and to questioning where people’s “papers’ are –when they commit crimes. When people commit crimes in America, we need to DEMAND that they prove that they are citizens . And that is COMMON SENSE. I AM against prejudice and I am FOR restoring common sense to our free countr

Um, I think you mean prejudice…

Is it wrong that I held prejudice against this author for the title of this entry, and the subsequent continued use of the “word” throughout? (For those of you unaware- “prejudism” is not a word.) But to address the entry frankly- I agree with the overall sentiment, and think the first noter is a silly goose.

I think it is worse in America. I can say that because I use to live there. Canadians do have their issues but it is worked on a great deal here in schools.

August 10, 2011

I agree with you whole heartily. I refuse to judge anyone due to religion, the color of their skin, or whatever difference there may be. True we need to be alert to what is going on around us, but to judge another by their nationality or color of their skin is just not right. Thank you for writing this. Love,

August 10, 2011
August 10, 2011

LifeIsThis; It’s actually a word that is rarely used, but still a word nonetheless. Definition for prejudism: (Prejudist) A prejudice is a prejudgment: i.e. an assumption made about someone or something before having adequate knowledge to be able to do so with guaranteed accuracy.

August 10, 2011

“Prejudism” is a word like “conversate” is a word. To clarify, neither of them are actually words but people use them as though they are words due either to laziness or ignorance in the proper use of American English. It is something that used to bother me immensely but I have come to terms with the fact that Americans in this day and age are not versed in proper use of English.

I believe prejudice is learned. I also believe it can be “unlearned.” I grew up in Texas. I know it can.

August 11, 2011

Mrs. CrazyFace, Prejudism is in the dictionary. Therefore it’s a word. Conversate is also in the dictionary, however it is definition is under slang terminology.