SAD

I feel so sad for my cousin. I don’t know what I can do for her. Her husband died a few years ago. He left her plenty of money. When he died my cousin had emotional problems. Her son took over her money management. She had plenty. Apparently over a few years or whatever he used up most of her money. She is now living on her pension and will probably lose her car. She is desperate but I don’t know what I can do. She has approached her brothers but they refuse to help. They tell her to just give up her car. It’s easy to say but hard to do. I spoke to her this morning because we were suppose to meet for lunch. She doesn’t want to because she is so upset that she will lose her car. Her son’s wife was giving her money towards keeping the car but apparently has stopped. I would like to talk to the son and DIL but of course I can’t and won’t. My cousin has a daughter she doesn’t talk to. I know my cousin has not been an angel – screams and just has a "bad" attitude but she doesn’t deserve this. Her son always promised to return the money but never has and probably never will. I don’t know how his wife stays with him. They do have three children and she supports them by teaching and tutoring. How does he live with himself knowing what he has done to his mother?????????????????????
I guess I’ll call my cousin before I go to lunch and see if I can change her mind. If a one time loan would help we would but I think it would have to be ongoing. So I’m going swimming and will STOP complaining about stupid stuff.

Log in to write a note

Wow, that IS very sad.

August 29, 2012

how hurtful it must be for her to know her son did this to her. prayers for her. take care,

August 29, 2012

she should file for bankruptcy then she will be able to keep her car and they can’t touch her pension either.

August 29, 2012

That is a sad situation. Love,

Oh, no! I seem to remember you mentioning her before. May the family *should* intervene with the son. Meet and approach him as one force to make him accountable for his mother’s finances?

August 29, 2012

I see it so often where kids are financially abusing their elderly parents.. It is sickening!! As for how his wife stays with him.. I am sure she played her part in enjoying the money.. she cant be completely innocent.. surely she would have questioned where the extra money was coming from? Makes me mad!!

August 29, 2012

That is sad but happens so much more than it should! I have a nephew that did the same thing to his mother.

August 29, 2012

shocking