UPSET AND SURPRISED

 Last night we played bridge. While we were there I was talking to friends. I mentioned my annual Hanukah party. He said that I shouldn’t make it again. I have too many people. They feel cramped. I had people from different groups and some friends did not enjoy it. I didn’t ask and he didn’t tell me who. I never thought that people didn’t enjoy themselves! So I will not do it this year but I was so upset and surprised to hear that people didn’t like it!!!!!! I do agree and have learned that it is much nicer to have 6-8 people rather than 20 but for my Hanukah party I always invited "everyone." So this winter I will not make a Hanukah party or I will just invite hubby’s family.

Log in to write a note
August 29, 2012

He sure could’ve told you in a nicer way! Besides, he probably overheard maybe ONE person say something, and has blown it all out of proportion. Men always seem to get stuff wrong like that. I think you should do whatever YOU want, and if anyone doesn’t want to come, they don’t have to! hugs, Nicky

August 29, 2012

surely there was a more diplomatic way to say that?!!! men have no tact or diplomacy. i’m sorry your feelings were hurt like that. take care,

August 29, 2012

If YOU want to have the party, have the party. If someone doesn’t like it – they don’t have to come!

I think you should have your party. If some person doesn’t like it, he can stay home! I bet everyone else enjoys it

I would say, plan your party, invite your friend, tell him the size of the party and tell him that it is his choice to attend or not. If you enjoy it, then you do it.

August 29, 2012

I agree with everyone else. You shouldn’t have been told in that way, in that setting! And if you want a party – go for it!

I can’t imagine a friend saying something like that–so hurtful! A true friend might feel comfortable enough with you to suggest that so-and-so doesn’t enjoy the party, or that perhaps because of how tight your living quarters are you may want to make a smaller gathering. But to suggest you not host a party at all?!? I find that incredibly rude and hurtful. I’d make a smaller party BYONE–I’d have my party and not invite him!

August 29, 2012

he could have been more tactful in the way he told you but yeah why bother if people aren’t enjoying it? Just relax and enjoy yourself for a change, you’ve done enough all your life, time to just relax and chill. By the way I am sure your parties are GREAT and I would love to come if it was me!

August 29, 2012

I would invite and people who do not want to come won’t.