SAD THINKING-OK

I am thinking too much today. I am thinking of all the people who are going through rough financial times. I am wondering what I can do. I did bring toys to TOYS FOR TOTS but I think it’s not enough. I am thinking of sending my grandchildren a note saying that this time I am not sending them something because I gave to a poor child today.

Yesterday my daughter was here and in the end she said she needed some money. Without too much thought I transferred money into her account. That leaves me a little short but I didn’t know what else to do. She gets money every week but complains it’s not enough. I have no idea. I told her to keep bills for a few weeks so I can see where her money goes. This probably won’t happen. I think today I should ask her to pay me back slowly – a certain amount every week. I haven’t told my hubby…………………….

I made a blanket for my son’s girlfriend for Hanukah but for whatever reason I am not happy with it so this morning I am going to Joann’s to buy new fabric.

I have been organizing and cleaning this morning but now I will read some of your entries and leave. It’s raining out. YUK!

Have a good day.

Log in to write a note
December 16, 2008

Ryn: your friends granbddaughter is in my thoughts. It is normal for preemies to get sick. Aaliyah was sick at about 2 weeks. The hospital sent the police to my door in the middle of the night to inform us. She also got sick the day she was to come home. The second was RSV. I still don’t know what the first was. Today she is very healthy. Reasure the family that the bay will be okay

December 16, 2008

It’s kind of you to think of others at this time. So many charities are lacking right now due to the economy. I heard that the Salvation Army was down by 80% this year yet 1000 people in our area will be sleeping at their facilities tonight 🙁

December 16, 2008

It is snowing here so count your blessings. The winter has been horrible so far and no end is in sight for now! I bought some CDs for a poor child and have to drop them off at the Y by tomorrow, hope it lets up. Everyone needs money right now, I wish my mother could give me some too but she doesn’t have much herself. We are all hurting.

It’s hard to know when to say no to young people. They need to learn to conserve. We are all in line for some real cutbacks the next couple of years.

MJ+
December 16, 2008

I always like to do a little extra for charity at this time of year.

December 16, 2008

you are doing the right thing – sharing….thats what life is about. hugs P

December 17, 2008

thank u..

December 17, 2008

ryn: there are several websites that list tons of contests. I’ve just been hitting those and trying them all. From what I’ve read it’s really just a numbers game. Contests where you can entry multiple times are better. Write ins are better because fewer people bother, etc. *crosses fingers*

December 17, 2008

Ryn: the author is Nora Ephron

Good for you in taking toys to the Toys for Tots programme. ryn-We removed the pool for good in the spring. Our oldest daughter now has an inground pool, very luxurious. Ours was old and we got a ton of use out of it over the years. No need for it now.

December 17, 2008

I’m glad to help families out, especially at Christmas. Some of us have too much and some do not have enough.

ryn: as far as who my mom’s ashes belong to, her husband promised us when she died that when he was done mourning her he would give the ashes to us. yet he continues to hold onto them, and to the rings he promised my daughter. simply because he’s a huge jackass.

You are so right. Many are having financial difficulties right now. I am afraid it will be some time before the economy improves.