SUPER UPSET

GOD GRANT ME THE SERENITY TO ACCEPT THE THINGS I CANNOT CHANGE; THE COURAGE TO CHANGE THE THINGS I CAN AND THE WISDOM TO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE.


The last time I had a seizure and couldn’t drive I accepted it easily. For whatever reason I just can’t this time. I guess it will take me time to get use to the idea of no more driving for me. I made an appointment with the neurologist for two weeks but on Monday I am going to try to change it for this Tuesday. I never told the receptionist that I had a seizure. My daughter came in from Toronto to be with me. It’s been very nice but she goes back late this afternoon. We were suppose to be in Toronto this weekend for my BIL’s 80th birthday party and my SIL’d 75th birthday.

Yesterday my boys came for supper and spent a couple of hours. It was nice. Today my hubby will go and I’ll probably go to (to get out of the house) to the Apple store to buy my BIL an iPad. 


Not much else to say except that I am very upset and it will take awhile to accept that I can’t drive. Of course the neuro might tell me different but I doubt it.

I don’t know if we will be able to go to the country next weekend.


I don’t know if we will be able to go to Florida.


WE WILL NEED INSURANCE AND THEY DON’T COVER PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS.

Log in to write a note
August 24, 2013

So sorry! How long does the ban on driving last?

August 24, 2013

prayers for you. hope you are able to get into your doctor’s office soon. take care,

August 24, 2013

Sure they do. Obamacare made insurance companies pay for pre-existing conditions so re-check that and report back so we all know what happened. Hope you feel better soon.

I am sorry! It sucks!

I guess it depends on if your insurance company is American or Canadian. Maybe.

Oh dear. Driving is so fundamental to independence for many of us – I can imagine how you feel. So sorry! 🙁

August 24, 2013

I can only imagine how difficult it must be for you to accept a drastic change like this. Hope you can drive in the very near future.

August 24, 2013

I am so sorry. I have always admired your ability to do things by yourself. I hope and pray that your Dr. can help you and you can continue to be as independent as ever!!!

August 24, 2013

Some insurances do cover pre-existing conditions. I have not been able to drive for a few years now, but my daughter, ex-husband, son in law and my granddaughter all drive and make sure I get where I need to go. It was definitely hard though to have to give up driving. Take care of you right now. Love,

August 25, 2013

the driving ban will be frustrating but its better than having a seizure while behind the wheel and having a horrific accident. Be patient. And remember things should settle down again with the medication. My friend Derek is banned from driving too, for similar reasons ( unexplainable seizures) and I see his frustration. He simply catches a bus now. You are lucky you have a hubby that can drive you places at least. Take care. hugs p