EMERGENCY

GOD GRANT ME THE SERENITY TO ACCEPT THE THINGS I CANNOT CHANGE; THE COURAGE TO CHANGE THE THINGS I CAN AND THE WISDOM TO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE.

This afternoon I ended up in the emergency room at the local hospital. I had a seizure. At first we didn’t know why but just a few mintes ago I checked my "pill box" and realized I had not put in my Dilantil pills for seizures!!!!!! My level fell too low. Anyhow hubby called the ambulance and I ended up in emergency. The service was good. I ended up getting intravenous to up my Dilantin levels. They also gave me an antibiotic for my bladder infection! I am fine now. I don’t know how this is going to affect our winter in Florida. If we can’t go I will feel terrible for my hubby. I will try to persuade him to go for a few months alone. He hates the winter. I also don’t know if I will be able to drive because after my first seizure I couldn’t drive for six months. In the morning I will call my neurologist and make an appointment. Until then I won’t drive and won’t make any decisions. Never a dull moment.

Hope all is well with all of you.

Log in to write a note

Oh my goodness, glad you got quick treatment and were able to discover the cause so you could get the proper care. Stay well…

Ginger, I am sorry you went through all that. Hopefully the doctor’s appointment goes well.

Oh dear. Glad you are okay!!

August 22, 2013

My mother & father used to “double check” each other when they filled their pill boxes. That way, if one forgot something, then hopefully, the other one would catch it. Hope you’re feeling better & that everything will go back to normal.

August 22, 2013

Thank god your ok.

August 22, 2013

Oh my so sorry. I do hope all will be ok. I know how scary that had to be. I am here if you need to vent. Love,

August 22, 2013

Yes so glad all is well with you. Hope you will still be able to drive.

August 22, 2013

glad all ended up OK but yeah that is scary. I would hate the thought of not being able to drive, that would ruin my day.

August 22, 2013

The seizures can be scary. I haven’t had any for a few years and I don’t have to take the Dilantin any more either.

August 22, 2013

bladder infections are never fun, I have had a few. so glad you are ok now. hugs p

August 22, 2013

I hope all is well with you now.

I’m sorry. Hopefully, you can get it all sorted out.

August 23, 2013

Oh my. Prayers for you and I really hope you can still go to FL for the winter.

August 23, 2013

I am sorry. I hope you are able to drive yourself to Fl. Take good care of yourself.

August 23, 2013

Seizures sound scary, and I’m glad the hospital trip was as good as it was!

August 23, 2013

How awful for you. I hope you are feeling better now and that you’ll be safe to drive once back on your pills.

August 24, 2013

surely you will be able to drive if you make sure you take your meds for seizures, won’t you? if it was only you missing a pill. i’m glad you are okay but, what about getting someone to double check your meds in your pill container? take care,