TRAGEDY NARROWLY AVERTED

 Tonight I almost got killed! I’m not kidding! It just wasn’t my time I guess.
Here’s what happened. I spent a wonderful afternoon with my grandson. When I took him home he put on the lights in the car to look for something. He was trying to turn it off but the light wasn’t going off so I told him it was ok as I wasn’t staying long. Usually you "hit" the lights to turn them on and off. BUT sometimes the lights stay on until the door is closed or whatever. I always tell the kids NOT to play with the lights because if they leave them on the battery could die. Anyhow I went into my son’s house for awhile. Then I left! I didn’t notice that the light was on. Once I started to drive I noticed the light was on so I decided to stop the car and turn the light off. THAT’S WHEN IT HAPPENED!!!!!!! I THOUGHT I PUT THE CAR IN PARK. I STARTED TO GET OUT. THE CAR WAS IN REVERSE. THE CAR STARTED TO GO BACKWARDS. I REALIZED THAT THE CAR WAS MOVING. I MUST HAVE FALLEN AND I THOUGHT THE CAR WAS GOING TO DRIVE OVER ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LUCKILY I FELL SIDEWAYS AWAY FROM THE CAR. THE CAR CONTINUED GOING BACKWARDS UNTIL IT HIT A CURB AND THE NEIGHBOUR’S CAR! I GOT UP AN STARTED WALKING TO MY SON YELLING HELP. WHEN THE NEIGHBOUR HEARD MY CAR HIT HIS BRAND NEW CAR HE CAME OUT. ONE OF THE NEIGHBOURS WENT TO GET MY SON. I AM BRUISED ALL OVER! THANKFULLY I AM NOT WORSE FOR THE  WEAR. WE PUT ICE ON MY HAND WHICH WAS SWOLLEN AND ON MY LEG. MY SON CALLED HIS BROTHER TO CALL HIS FATHER AND THEN THEY CAME TO GET ME. I AM STILL SHAKING AND CAN’T BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED. WE TRIED TO FIGURE OUT WHY I WAS GETTING OUT OF THE CAR BUT COuldn’t. However on the way home I remembered about the light. We will never tell my children as I don’t want my grandson to ever know. It’s strange that my grandson and I had been discussing something being someone’s fault and I said then they should win a prize or something. He said that’s not the way it works if it’s you fault. I hate when people blame someone. It was an accident and taught me a lesson. BE CAREFUL! THINK! WATCH WHAT YOU’RE DOING!
I tried to get into bed but it hurt too much to change positions. I have tried to sleep in various chairs. I just took two TYLENOL so hope I can soon fall asleep. I don’t think I’ll try to sleep in bed tonight. The lazy boy chair will have to do.
I was suppose to take my other grandson tomorrow but I cancelled it as I will probably be sore all over. Anyhow that’s what they tell me.
Now I’m wondering if I should cancel Saturday night. I invited about 20 for coffee. I am also thinking about cancelling the dinner I planned for Toronto. I guess I’ll wait until tomorrow. At this time I don’t want to do anything or have any responsibility.
I REALIZE JUST HOW LUCKY I WAS!!!!!!!!
I WILL CERTAINLY BE MORE CAREFUL.Actually I think I am quite careful. It just takes a minute thought for our lives to change. Tonight was almost my minute. My car has a scratch on the driver’s side. I think the other car just has some damage on the front bumper. The car wasn’t moving that fast.
So I guess I’ll try to sleep some more.
Be careful my friends. Think of me and what could happen to you.

Log in to write a note
October 13, 2011

I’m glad you didn’t get more seriously hurt! Yikes, sounds very scary.

October 13, 2011

its good you weren’t more hurt. That is one of the reasons I do not like automatic cars….give me a manual control one any day. hugs P

October 13, 2011

Wow, this definitely makes you think about how quickly things can change. I know I just started noting and reading you but I’m so glad you’re ok.

Scary!! So glad you are okay!!

October 14, 2011

how scary that must have been for you!! you are so lucky in the way you fell. sure does make one think at how quick things can change. glad you are only sore. hopefully, that will go away soon. take care,

October 14, 2011

glad you okay and it wasn’t as serious as it could have been…huggs

I hope you are not too sore. Scary stuff, you were very lucky.

October 14, 2011

Glad you were not hurt more than you were. Take care and rest up. I am just Thankful you were not hurt severely. Love,

Jon
October 14, 2011

I’m glad you survived this. I’ve caught myself getting out of the car on few occasions when the car wasn’t in “park”. Fortunately, I’ve caught myself in time. Up until two years ago, I never had a car accident, but now I’ve had three minor accidents, no damage to other people’s property or lives, just some minor dents and starches. My doctor told me I shouldn’t be driving because of the medicinesI take. I don’t know what I’d do without a car. Glad you’re safe!

October 14, 2011

Hate to say it but it sounds like to me that you should not be driving anymore,if you had a seizure before you can have one again and if you are driving when it happens you can black out and kill someone or yourself. Really think about this, I know you do not want to give up your freedon but it might be time.

October 14, 2011

Also wondering why you would have to get out of the car to turn off the light as I assume it is inside?

October 14, 2011

I’m so sorry that this happened to you. It’s good that it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. But, accidents happen and it wasn’t your fault….again, I say, accidents happen.

October 14, 2011

I am SO GLAD you’re alright!!!!!

October 15, 2011

I’ve had a light turned on the “way back” of my SUV before and since it was in the daytime I had no idea. Kids playing with light switches is a bad thing since, as you say, the battery could die. I’m sad that this happened and that your car had to hit the neighbor’s new car before stopping, but it must have been scary for everyone, including your sons who couldn’t figure out why you were getting out. This is why they’re called “accidents” but really, it seems you learned an important lesson with no lecture needed!