UNCOMFORTABLE AND UNWELCOME

 I just came back from my son’s house. I always feel so unwelcome and uncomfortable when I’m there. Not so much when we are invited for supper but when I bring the children home after I’ve had them for a few hours. I brought my grandson home about eight. My son was busy on the phone and on the computer. My DIL was running around doing the washing, looking through their school bags etc. I don’t know why they can’t sit down and talk to me for five minutes. I actually wouldn’t even go in but my son is always saying he wants to see me!!!!!! I spent some time looking through my granddaughter’s schoolwork and then I picked myself up and left. Maybe I could stay until after the kids are in bed but I just felt that I was being ignored and not respected at all. I can’t help but compare it to my ex DIL who always sat down with me in the living room and gave me her full attention. She also works full time. I know I shouldn’t compare but I can’t help it.
Anyhow I did have a wonderful afternoon with my grandson. We painted the wall in my craft room. We were both a mess when we finished but it was so much fun. I just love him to bits. I will see him more often!!!!!! I don’t know why but my son does not want me to take him when he is with his mother so I won’t but WHY??????????? I just hate this divorce business.
So I just had to get this out. I am going to leave this for my children. I don’t know if they’ll read it or not but I want to be able to write what I want. I don’t want to hurt them but maybe by the time they read this they’ll understand.

Log in to write a note

I hate that your son and DIL are able to hurt you so deeply with their thoughtlessness. And I’m sure that’s what it is: they are too busy to stop and think about anything or anyone other than what they feel they need to do. *HUGS*

June 20, 2012

It’s a shame that your son and DIL do not appreciate you more, maybe one day they will when you are gone. A shame to say it but it seems to be true these days.No one is that busy that they do not have the time to talk for a few minutes!

June 20, 2012

I can understand this feeling you have. I don’t know what the answer is though other than letting them be the ones to instigate the ‘get togethers’ then they may be more attentive. This way though means you have a lot of time to fill without them whilst they work their way round to thinking that it would be good to see you and do things with you. Best wishes, A

June 21, 2012

Some people just are really tired and frazzled after a long day at work, that’s all. And some people do not behave very graciously or thoughtfully when they are tired and frazzled. All they’re thinking of is “all I have to get done before the end of the day.” It’s probably better for you to not take it personally and instead think of how much more welcoming they behave when they invite you for dinner. hugs, Nicky

June 21, 2012

divorce is hard on the kids and the people involved. i’m sorry your son and dil aren’t more respectful towards you. take care,