crepesringwatchsaphiresgrandpanewyears

everyone really really wanted me to make my special swedish crepes for breakfast today so yesterday my dad goes "hey so you going to be up in time to make those for us?"

me: "sure dad! by…10am!"

everyone in the room laughed and my grandpa said

"no way! its going to be lunch when she finally gets up!"

i pouted and said "no! i said i will do it so ill do it!"

my dad gave me this look and said "how about this….you got 20 bucks on ya?"

me "uh…yea? why?"

my dad: "give me the 20 bucks now and tomorrow morning if the crepes are on the table by 10am ill give it back to you, otherwise you lose it!"

i thought about it

my dad : "okay okay okay, how about you give me the 20 bucks, and if the crepes are on the table by 10am ill give you 30 bucks back! ah?"

me "its a deal!"

shit i was going to be so tired. sure enough at 9:15am I was up and in the kitchen cooking breakfast! My mom came in and said "so….did you do this more for the money or showin up your dad?"

me: "showing up dad! 😀 "

my mom "I thought so haha!"

my dad gave me the money and I realized he didn’t even care that he was wrong! He WANTED to be wrong! It was just his way of getting what he wanted…grrr…

oh wells haha. We talked and laughed and ate and then as I was getting ready to go out with the girls to get stuff for my party my mom told rachel, jonah and I to meet her in her room. We did and she had three boxes in her hand.

"your grandpa wanted me to give these to you guys", she said. "In these boxes are pieces of jewelry that your grandma owned. He did not know how to divide it amongst you and so he asked me to do it since I know you all so well. I am pretty sure I got this right and if I didn’t well I am sorry, but remember this isn’t about how much something is worth, this is about the value of it being your grandmother."

We all completely understood and nodded. She then passed us each a box.

"Rachel, since you are the romantic one, this one is for you"

My sister opened the box to find a beautiful shell broach with the porcelain period piece head of a woman on it (i forget what those are called ) and matching earings! That was sooo rachel. She even used to collect those!

"And Hannah this one is for you"

I opened the box and to my astonishment there was a beautiful silver, diamond and blue saphire crested pendant. It sparkled brilliantly.

then my mom turned to my brother.
"Jonah, I am giving you these pearls to pass down to your future daughter or grandaughter. Both Hannah and Rachel have them and so I felt these should belong to you."

Next she brought out 3 pieces of jewelry that were leftover. One was a gold heart pin that had tiny colored stones on it, another was my grandmothers wedding band, and then the last piece. The minute my mom set it out it caught my eye.  I had never seen anything like it and it just pulled me to it. A tiny gold/brassy watch ring. Inside were little gold and green gems of some sort. My mom told us it was my grandmothers engagement ring. I lit up. Now I REALLY wanted it! This was the mark of their love for eachother. A love that lasted for over 50 years :-). I was always in awe of the love between my grandparents and so to have such an important symbol of that meant a lot to me.

it made me sad, looking at all of grandmas things…but at the same time i was happy that we were each getting a small part of her to keep with us. I bet she was in the room then. Maybe she was or maybe there was just so much of her energy left on her jewelry.

It was weird having Evelynne here visiting instead of grandma…well okay , not weird…but just…I don’t know I kept accidently saying "grandma and granpa" and then id correct myself and say "oops i mean evelynne and grandpa…" I mean I like Evelynne a lot, she’s funny and sweet and nice. I am also so happy that she and grandpa have eachother! If i was going to pick anyone for him it would be her since she has been around our family for so long. I just couldnt help but feel a little weird with another woman visiting us at our home in grandmas place for the first time….

I thanked grandpa for grandmas jewelry, telling him that it meant a lot to me. Then off we went on our errands. First we went to Lowes to look for the right size pvc pipe for balloon columns. I found them, but we realized they were way to big to fit in my car! We would have to return with Alis truck. Next stop was Walmart where we found all the materials I needed for decorating! I already had bought streamers, playes, serving utensils, and other various party things at party city so this was the finishing touch! I also found some more balloons. Then we went to Fred Meyers where I got the perfect lights for the deck! It’s going to look great! Tomorrow or the day after I need to go get all the boos, get butcher paper for a backdrop i am creating, and go pick up that pvc pipe…then I also have to make that backdrop and create the balloon columns…and did i mention decorating the whole house and having this all done before the 31st? The whole day before guests arrive I’ll be cooking and preparing! Oh gees…I need to get my hair trimmed! :-S *sigh* lots to do and lots on my mind.

My grandpa and cousin leave tomorrow morning. Cousin David is still going to be sticking around in washington visiting friends though. I wonder when the next time will be that I see grandpa. I feel it was a lot easier to be close to him this visit since grandma died. The last few times I sort of avoided him because I didn’t know how to support him… I couldn’t even deal with my own emotions. Before he and Evelynne came to visit I had written him a letter apologizing for that and he wrote back telling me that it was alright and he understands 🙂 . That made me feel better.

uuugghh…im about to conk out on my keyboard lol. goodnight diary.

oooh yea, my sister and I went and played raquetball at the gym and then my family had a nice dinner. the end

 

Log in to write a note
December 29, 2008

may I please have some crepes

December 29, 2008

Thanks Hannah I think he is pretty hot LOL. I love how your Dad bet on you making crepes I would have gotten up to show him up too haha. I’m sure your Grandma was in the room; how special to receive something so meaningful and loving. Your a really lucky girl. Hope you enjoy the new year 🙂

December 29, 2008

It’s been what, almost a year lol?

December 30, 2008

how much u chargin to send me some swedish crepes? 😛 btw, u should sooo post a pic of that pendant, sounds nice!! ryn: yea, my hair’s short. i took a poll with my friends, keepin my hair short won over growing it out again. which would u have voted? and if u ever come by houston, ima call u to my office 😉 cant wait to read about this drama i missed…. haha Have a Nice Day!

December 31, 2008

happy2009

January 3, 2009

Your crepes must be really, really good. 🙂 I think that jewelry with a woman’s head on it is called a cameo, but I could be wrong. That’s sweet that each of you got something from your grandmother. Hope you had a good New Year’s!