Love Blah dee blah blah

“Let there be spaces in your togetherness, And let the winds of the heavens dance between you. Love one another but make not a bond of love: Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls. Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup. Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf. Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone, Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music. Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping. For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts. And stand together, yet not too near together: For the pillars of the temple stand apart, And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.” -Khalil Gibran The Prophet

This is a quote from one of my favorite books ever. It’s pretty much my bible. How I want to live my life.

This quote is on love and marriage and it literally describes the type of relationship I want to be in someday. For each of us to be so at one with ourselves that we don’t need to be completed by each other. To celebrate each other as individuals and to support and be comfortable with distance.

When I love, I know that I love to the very depth of my being, and I am as loyal as it gets, but that doesn’t mean I want to  make that person my world. When I am in a committed relationship I will not change from who I was when I was single. I will still enjoy my hobbies. Do the things I like to do, and hang out with the same people. I will not all of a sudden make someone the focal point of my life because who someone is as an individual is why you fall in love with them in the first place right?

I am very independent and enjoy my space as much as I love being with others. It’s all a balance. That’s what I want in romance too. Balance. Not too sweet, not too cold, just right. Hopefully.

In shorter terms, I want someone who doesn’t need too much and always leaves me wanting more. 😁 Keep the mystery alive.

Im not even sure how I got on this subject. I was just looking at Khalil Gibran quotes and stumbled apon one of my favorites. So yeah. Well I do t have much to report on today. Currently I’m at my parents house. I drove up to see them today and I took them to dinner and a movie. We saw Chappaquidick which is based off of the Ted Kennedy scandal and the death of his brothers secretary. It was directed really well and very educational. I don’t really like posting my political views online for everyone to see so I’ll just leave it at that.

Alrighty goodnight!

Log in to write a note