poor mouse! poor me! :-S

UGH! Oh my gosh I was absolutely traumatized today.

It was the first time feeding Rufus since the incident with the mouse biting his eye, and the vet told me that the only way to assure it doesn’t happen again is to kill the mice myself first by knocking them out before putting them in the cage. I knew this would be horrible and I didn’t want to do it, but for Rufus’s sake, it was the sacrifice I had to make.

I reached in the box and grabbed the mouse by the tail. It was so furry and cute like they always are, but this time, I knew I would be the one ending it’s life instead of the snake. I told it that I was sorry for what I was about to do and that I was grateful for it giving it’s life.

Then….I closed my eyes and with one quick motion I smacked the mouses head against the side of the cage. WACK! A squirt of blood shot out from its head straight on to my FACE!

I immediately screamed, flailing my arms and dropping the mouse inside the cage where the hungry Rufus was waiting, and ran to the bathroom to wash off the large red splattery mess.

SICK SICK SICK! AH! OH GROSS! AAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

UGH!

That was not fun AT ALL….

There has to be another way of doing this 🙁
I feel like such a murderer.

Log in to write a note
November 26, 2010

Bluh! I could not do it! But you did tell it thank you. Meats meat I guess but ick!

November 26, 2010

Umm next time put it in a shopping bag then blood won’t get all over. Ekks I can’t believe I just told you how to kill cleanly.

Hannah, this is your brother. If you hit the mouse on the side of the cage hard enough for blood to hit your face, you MAY have done it a little too hard. I always just whacked the mouses head/neck against the top corner of the dresser with an underhand swing (I assume you did an all-out downward swing?) I hope you have a good facewash! Better luck next time!

November 26, 2010

Try taken the bag outside and hitting it on the sidewalk?

November 27, 2010

Omg I could not do that. I’m all for the circle of life…but I couldn’t do the act myself…

November 27, 2010

Poor baby! I don’t think I could do that, either. I couldn’t pet my cat for days after I heard her eat a whole bird one night.

November 27, 2010

Hahahahaahahahaa … Ahhhh so funny.. I’m sorry I see humor in your murder. … But Rufus needs to eat. You should see how they butcher cows and pigs if you think what you did is bad :^/

I sent you a message a while ago regarding the other way.

November 27, 2010

oh boy, ick. Um, can you freeze the mouse? and then when it is time to feed rufus let the mouse defrost a little so it isn’t so cold? i think thats what jay used to do.

November 27, 2010

if you felt like a murderer and i felt entertained by this story… what does that make me? 😛 Have a Nice Day!

November 28, 2010

Dear Miss Hannah Bannah, While I am sorry you had to kill a mouse you better toughen up…before the zombies arrive. Take care.