This time of year

It’s not very often that I feel lonely, but when I do, it’s usually during the last two months of the year. When the holidays are happening, Families are getting together, people are getting engaged. It’s my absolute favorite time of the year, but it is also the loneliest for me. As time has gone by though, I have learned to be patient. I’m no longer going to try and push every potential romantic thing into what should develope naturally. I have no fear of being alone, and I know that I will meet someone eventually, but until then I will be a little sad around this time of year. Just a little. 🙂

Log in to write a note
November 17, 2018

I am reminded of our daughter who married for the first time in her thirties, and know she felt something like you do.  One thing she did was to volunteer for some fundraisers for organizations that supplied food and toys to unprivileged children and families.  Another was to throw herself in the work of our family to help produce our special dinners on holidays…the first to arrive and the last to leave.

 

Now I’m a widow..family spread over several states during holidays and while I am not sad, I do feel really keenly that there isn’t anyone going to be here for Thanksgiving but me.  So.  At 77 that’s a first in my entire life, but I am going to make the most of where I am in life now, make a meal that isn’t complicated but one I like and think of my being released from all the work I used to have to do to provide a holiday meal–that should be appreciated.  Opening a nice bottle of wine, too on that day.  I hope you can do something special every day in this season, the little things that seem luxurious work for me.

November 18, 2018

@sago I am so sorry for your loss. I almost lost my father this year from a heart attack and I can’t imagine how devastating that would’ve been for my mother.

I am going on 32, so maybe that is why I think about these things. At the same time I know that everything has its time. Thank you for sharing and for your kind words and encouragement. I will be working during Thanksgiving, but I know that I will get Christmas off this year which is something to look forward to! I hope that you at least have a friend who can come over and spend some time with you. 🙂 Happy holidays!

November 19, 2018

Thank you…you’re very sweet.  Being alone on Thanksgiving Day isn’t any excuse for not having a sense of thankfulness or making it a pleasant day with a pleasing meal and doing things I enjoy.