We get what we need

I used to focus too much on the future instead of being present. When I was young I was Impatiently waiting for when I would be old enough to drive, make my own money, move out of the house, have my own career. My mind was always full speed ahead. As I got older I would wonder why I was still single, and worry about not getting married in time to start a family.

Now, I have learned to be present in my life and to fully appreciate and enjoy where I am on this journey. Instead of worrying so much about the future, or trying to control where I’m going, I’m finally trusting my intuition and tossing everything to the wind, seeing where it takes me. Letting what comes come and what goes go, and being grateful for whatever ends up happening. I’m enjoying every part about being single because one day I will probably miss some of it. As much as I would like to have children someday, I am grateful to not be a mother right now. I have so much free time to do things and I know that will go out the door if kids ever do come into my life.

You can’t force life. It doesn’t work that way. We are not all on a single train track with a known destination. Love will enter your life when it’s supposed to and birthing children will happen if it’s supposed to. You don’t always get the career you want and hard work doesn’t always guarantee dreams will come true, it’s plain and simple,  but even if we don’t always get what we want, I believe we always get what we need.

Log in to write a note
May 9, 2018

That is very wise!

May 10, 2018

@thediarymaster 🙏🏻🙂