Turn the world to its best

I started teaching freshmen this year and I have a lot to say about it. I remember high school very well. Much more than I remember freshman in college. This wasn’t due to drinking. It was due to sadness, really. It was a cloudy brain time. I remember so much about high school that I can remember exactly how it felt to be the age I am teaching. I didn’t start this diary then, but I had a written diary. I remember thoughts, who I liked and what felt real. Having your whole life ahead of you. These kids are pretty fun and you can have conversations with them. I haven’t been missing out on teaching them because I needed to teach all the grades that I have to get to 9th and I think only now am I ready to teach them with experience, patience and understanding. There’s no way I could have started my career as a freshmen teacher, it took time for me to realize how to talk to this age group in a way that doesn’t make them feel like I’m some dictator that wants to make their life hard. I am able to have control with them, but give them freedoms I couldn’t give other ages.

A lot of that comes with growing up and getting older. It comes with the weird calm that has come over me now that I am not going to be responsible for all my thoughts 24-7 anymore. Cryptic? Not really.

I think I don’t have anything else except that I really don’t know what this school year hods for me. I don’t know what is going to happen to our lives for moving. I don’t know what life holds for me when I turn 33 in May. I guess lots of things are changing and I think it’s going to be hard. I think it’s supposed to be worth all the hard. Nothing is going to be the same and that makes me happy and terrified at the same time. That’s all, really.

Log in to write a note