veinticinco

25 random things (from facebook).

25. I’m the first person in my group of friends from high school, and of my family members the same age to get married, despite the fact that both my sister and Chrissy were engaged before me. Ha. I win. 😛 (kidding).

24. It still feels weird to call him “my husband” when I’m talking about him to people who don’t know him.

23. Everyone else already put this on their list, but my awesome friends from high school and I call ourselves the Secret Society of Penguins.

22. It gets better. I’m pretty sure I have more penguin paraphrenalia than all of the SSOP combined. My mom, husband, non-penguin friends, and now even my mother-in-law (penguin PJ’s for xmas!!!) are totally enabling my penguin addiction/collection.

21. In my car alone, i have TWO penguin seat covers, a penguin steering wheel cover AND a penguin litter bag. The litter bag is obnoxiously huge and randy refuses to hang it because it looks like a purse and he doesn’t want anyone to break into the car to steal our TRASH.

20. It kind of both amuses and saddens me that I graduated college after everyone else in the ’04 class, but I still have a lesser degree. (well technically I don’t even have that yet–only one more class to go!!!)

19. I kiss better than Laurel. (Maygan will get this, lol).

18. Dana Carvey (comedian) jokes that he talks dirty to his wife by saying things like “carpool” and “vaccuum.” You know, housewife language. For me, this is “funny cuz it’s true”. I get totally turned on by making dinner for my husband and washing the dishes afterward.. in fact 100 times moreso than when he cooks and cleans for me. I’m such a housewife at heart.

17. I still have my first car–a 1987 Chevy Cavalier. Randy has become obsessed with getting every tiny little thing fixed about it (although I guess the suspension isn’t that tiny of a thing… or the paint job for that matter…) We intend to continue to drive this car for a very long time. 🙂

16. Randy says I’m turning into the female version of him the longer we’re together, but the truth is, I was always this silly. He was just blinded by lurve 😛

15. We live with his mother. Yea, that goes pretty much as you might expect it would, except compound it by the fact that our bedroom is essentially a closet, and we have no closet.

14. I WANT BABIES. NOW. (well… as soon as I finish school. And we get our own place… preferably back in pennsylvania.)

13. I don’t believe in “TMI.” There is no such thing as too much information as far as I’m concerned.

12. It is literally impossible for either me or Randy to surprise each other, because we’re nearly always thinking the same thing at the same time. It’s a little scary sometimes how in sync we are.

11. I am a 22-year-old married woman…. and I still sleep with stuffed animals :-).

10. I am a knitting rockstar. I knit a hat for my niece, Nevea, and one for Randy. I also knit a case to hold all of my knitting needles, and am in the process of knitting a pair of gloves and a pair of legwarmers. Now if only I had the time………

9. I’m stealing one from Carlini because it totally applies to me too: “I’m very good at just about anything I try which is fun but it can be a problem because I always want to be doing too many things. This is especially true with my craft projects. And in the end I feel like I never end up being very great at anything, just good enough.”

8. The other reason I stole that one from Carlini is because it’s getting late and I’m getting lazy, but I can’t go to bed until I finish this stupid thing because….

7. I have kept SEVERAL blogs over the last 5 years, in addition to paper journals dating back to at least the eighth grade, with *typically* only a few days to maybe a couple weeks between entries, but I haven’t written a single word since I got married. The longer I go without writing, the harder it is to start again. Hopefully this is a mild kick-startagain.

6. I spent about 5 hours the other day calculating deductions and credits on three separate tax returns just to figure out whether it would be more advantageous for us to file as married filing jointly or married filing separately. In case you were wondering, it’s jointly. But apparently that’s not always the case for everyone. Yea, I kind of obsess over these kinds of things.

5. My car’s name is Penny. There are several reasons for this. One: even though she has a NY license plate, she’ll always be a Penn sylvania girl (like me :-)). Two: Penny=Pen guinmobile. Three: Estimated market value= $0.01 😛 … i keeed. and Four: Penny rhymes with Jennie.

4. No seriously though, her name really is Penny.

3. I pretty much know the lyrics to just about every song on the radio. Maygan used to say I have musical Tourette’s. Randy and his friend Willy say I’m like Lila from that Ben Stiller movie “The Heartbreak Kid.” haha.

2. I know a ridiculous amount of random facts about random shit from the nutritional value of a granola bar to why Africans have darker skin, eyes and hair, to what deductions you can take when you file your taxes jointly as opposed to separately, to why wine typically gives just about *everyone* a headache, to the scientific advancements of the ancient Mayans, to whether or not any given cheese is made from pasteurized milk. Jorge at work has taken to prefacing any question he asks me with, “So you know how you know everything? Well….”

1. It is currently 10:30 pm. Also known as waayyy past my bedtime. Yes, I am an old fogey.

Log in to write a note
February 15, 2009

I’m a blanket knitting rockstar. Because I only know how to knit squares 😉

March 26, 2009

LOL! I love penguins too. They’re just so freakin’ cute!

Hey, Jen: I’m Blogging again! Congrats to you and Randy, come by Matt’s to see me when you both have a chance. JL