May 11, 2020

Aaaaand we’re back.

Four days removed from the situation was much-needed. I slept and drank and relaxed and worked and it was eventful. I went to work for 2 days. Became increasingly uncomfortable with the way-too-lax health sanitation situation there. Quit my job. Decided I would commit myself to this online-gig I’ve kind of had for a bit (since bye bye unemployment $) and am desperately hoping to find another online writing gig.

Came back to grandmom’s tonight. She sprained her ankle about 20 minutes after I left four days ago. Another family member was here with her, a friend came over to wrap it up and give her some Tylenol. Apparently the pain (that was already “unbearable”) was excrutiating for the entire 72 hours that followed. I explained to her and other family members the situation about the job. Yes, I quit, and I did it for her, but I am also reclaiming 6 hours out of my day to be completely unreachable. Available, in the other room, for emergencies ONLY. We start with that tomorrow. We’ll see how it goes.

I took the family member that stayed with her over the last few days to the airport today and got to listen to him vent about her for a bit.

“Motherfucking bitchy grouch!” “Just a fucking cunt!” “A miserable, sad person!” The insults went on.

She’s a sweet lady, or she used to be. I have to keep reminding myself that. She’s certainly not very sweet anymore.

My little sister told me she felt uncomfortable coming over here. One of grandmom’s good friends said the same thing, even before all this covid shit started.

I told her that tonight, I’m leaving the pill in the little medicine bowl right next to her bed. She knows she can’t take it until 4. It’s always 4. I also told her that if she needs me, I’ll come help her, but I’m only coming if she calls me NAME. I typically respond to her crescendo-ing groans. I’m not doing it anymore, even though I’m sure they’ll wake me up. I wasn’t even here for a few days and I still woke up multiple times a night, swearing I can hear her a door over.

I don’t want please and thank you’s, like my grumpy and angry family member said he does. I just want PROGRESS. I want her to be fucking happy to live for at least some time out of every day. She’ll never be happy-go-lucky about it, but I want her to want to sit in her beautiful sunroom or on her amazing back porch and just feel the sunshine and look at the sky and listen to the birds and feel NOT like she wishes she was dead. But the thing is that, even when i do coax or trick or somehow get her out there to the outside, the blue sky I see is not the same as the sky she sees. Maybe we aren’t feeling the same wind. Maybe the birds are saying mean things in her head while they’re singing compliments in mine. I don’t know. I wish I knew. But i’m so defeated from not knowing that I’ve realized I have nothing else to do but work, at least a little bit, on myself. For the sake of myself. I owe it to myself.

I just worry about her. I’m essentially planning to leave here by the end of June. I’ll be living about an hour and a half from here, back to the same place i was living before. A friend has a room. There’s a job there if I need it. The timing feels right. Or does it? Am I just convincing myself it feels right because it’s convenient for me to get out of here/it’s what other people have said/it’s what makes me excited? oF course living with my friends excites me. I miss them dearly. My life has been upside down and essentially on hold for an entire year. I want MY life back. But what happens when I get it back and i still wake up several times in the middle of the night? And i realize tht my life is still always going to be there but i don’t know if life here is always going to be tere? but i actually don’t even fucking like life here. i do not want to be a caregiver. I do not want to be here anymore. But I’m scared to leave at the same time.

ugh this post started so strong and now it’s just a bunch of fucking questions. that’s journaling for you.

 

Log in to write a note
May 12, 2020

I’m happy to see you and have been thinking about you.  I’m glad you got some time away.  A sample, or a test, to see how you’d handle it.  Looks like it went really well for you, aside of the waking up thing.

If grandmom could grasp the extraneous … burden, and the repellant chords she knowingly or unknowingly strikes, and if she could adjust herself and be better manageable and tolerable, would that influence your decision to stay over leaving?

May 12, 2020

@elcreature truthfully… I don’t know. I would still want to have my own space, be with my friends, have my own life. I’ve been essentially living out of my backpack for the months I’ve been here, and going back home to my parent’s place isn’t somewhere I really want to be, either. Sure, I could get a job around here and stay a bit longer, but I would still move out eventually anyways. I don’t see myself building a life here. It’s never going to feel like “home” in the sense that I’m searching for here. But I suppose i worry that it won’t feel very “home”-y anywhere I go, at least for a bit.

May 12, 2020

@kale yeah, however the arrangements end up working out, the one thing you definitely know for sure is that you need things to be okay for you too as much as you want things to be okay for her.

It’s gonna be alright, it will.

May 12, 2020

@elcreature I appreciate your affirmation. I know you’re right. It’ll be hard but it’ll be what it’ll be.

May 12, 2020

That’s a really tough situation to be in. I feel for ya. I think sometimes you just know when you know. You know? The answers will come to you in time.

May 12, 2020

@hannah_banana0012 Hope so! Sometimes things feel very clear but other times murky as ever.

May 12, 2020

As I sit here drinking my morning coffee, I read your post, your nan sounds a lot like Granddad when he was alive. Crotchety… and gruff. But still loveable.

May 12, 2020

@littleavocado it’s quite a personality type

May 13, 2020

@kale Yes, it is.