The light bulb

As I was getting settled here in my office, getting my morning protein shake, and my tea prepared, I can only describe it as a light bulb going off over my head

Of late, I have had some health issues. Nothing crazy, just some knee pain from arthritis, more numbness which I thought was from my cancer surgery a few years ago (it was numb when I woke up, most likely from being in one position too long) but after an x-ray of my back showed some arthritis and disk degeneration, which might be causing the impingement of the nerve and some crazy bicep tendinitis. I mean really?  Don’t get old, it’s a trap

Knowing full well that trying every.single.thing to lose weight and yet not dropping a pound is more likely a mental issue, as well as me not really moving that much, or as much as I would like to think I am, it comes as no surprise that I have these little bothersome physical issues.

The epiphany that came into my head makes a lot of sense, and now I have to figure out how to process it, to get past it.

I hate the way I look, and again do everything I can to lose weight, but something stops me from jumping into a work out program again. The reason why is the epiphany I just had.  The last time I got tired of looking the way that I looked and felt and started working out twice a day, eating better and actually losing weight it lead to my diagnosis of rectal cancer

This thought stopped me in my tracks

Now what do I do? I know I need to talk with someone about it. I called Kaiser Mental Health and they said since it’s the first time that I have seen them that I have to go through an intake interview to get started with a new therapist

It is definitely something I need to address, I can’t live in fear of that and have my overall health be affected from it

Log in to write a note
October 29, 2019

Ask your doctor what he thinks of weight watchers?  I am one of those who don’t exercise at all….Me walking up to the store up hill for about a  mile is all I get about twice a week but I have lost and gained my weight on weight watchers….it’s the only program that is based on science.

October 29, 2019

I take it crazy is your way of saying it could be anything? I had, over the vast expanse of year, thaat yawning maw of perpetually hungry years, that … bunch of years bigger than yours or mine crazy asses. Oh, wait, sorry. I had all those symptoms, led to two surgeries; shaving off excess of meniscus tear and moving radial ulnar. Numbness scares me a lot more than pain, but, you know, we’re talking about you. The mental health stuff, for me, was clinical Depression; it sucks. Remember that movie Moonstruck (this is also a clever gauge of your age. It’d be much more clever if I wasn’t actively telling you what it is/was) where Cher slaps that guy and says ‘Get over it’? That’s pretty much the standard reaction. Kaiser is a trip, but the old Kaiser horror stories seem to make them now seem favorable. I’m rambling. Crazy ass shit usually has a crazy answer, one you hadn’t thought of. Ok, so much for didactic, now, for the worse part; Advice;     1) Rock and With your bad self just the same                                                                                               2) Don’t get any on ya

October 29, 2019

@haredawg I love the way you think, seriously. When I say, nothing crazy, I mean it’s not zero to worse case scenario. Did my ortho doc recommend knee replacement? Yes, but I don’t want to do that again in 20 years. And by crazy I meant surgery, cancer, plague, you know, the BIG stuff.  All my most recent BIG stuff (knee surgery, hysterectomy, ass cancer) all handled by Kaiser, not 100% flawless but I am the better for it. And yes, the old Kaiser horror stories make me shudder.  They are infinitely better.  Now, how do I handle this case of PTSD?  I always thought in the past when my doc said I had to lose a certain amount of pounds, my mind said, oh yeah? Watch me not lose them just to spite you.  The mind is such a mystery to be sure