More about my last entry

I told you I would get more into what is going on with my youngest daughter Alex, but in order to do that I have to tell the story of marriage.

I was living in Gatlinburg, TN.  I frequented home in Texas, and on the way I would always allow my son’s father Tim to see him if he wanted.  It sometimes turned into a fiasco, because my son did not know his father well, and while he ALWAYS wanted to see him, he was scared to stay the night with him or spend any length of time with him, so often Tim would just drive from Arkansas to Texas with his boys and wife, and her two children, and take Corban bowling, to the movies, and out to eat and then return him to my parents house.  Tim almost always came with his wife, but for the last couple of years I had not seen her.  I never really asked, just figured she had a job, her kids were getting bigger and she had events to go to with them, etc. But one day after returning from my parents house back to Gatlinburg, I asked Tim if he was still married.  He told me he was not.  Now mind you, I had not seen her for almost two years.

I loved Tim, I always loved Tim.  Circumstances that were kind of out of our control kept us apart.  When I met Tim (on Eharmony) he lived in Arkansas, I lived in Texas.  He drove a log truck, was a volunteer firefighter, drank and smoked.  I was a full-time employee, and I went to school full-time for court reporting.  Neither of us wanted to give up what we had.  I also did not want to take my kids away from the only father they knew, even though he was not a very nice man.  This is when Tim met and married his wife.

When I found out Tim was no longer married, I had realized that I did not want to move around anymore, and I was willing to give up my very favorite place to live (TN) to have love, and find happiness.  I immediately told Tim, good, then we are getting married.  I insisted he come to visit me and Corban in TN.  He told me he didn’t know if he would get married again or ever even consider it.  I still insisted he was the my true love and he needed to come visit.  He came down in October 2016 with his two sons, my sons half  brothers.  I wanted to get married at the haunted house in Gatlinburg on Halloween.  LOL.  He was not having that, but before he left I had an engagement ring on my finger.

On November 25th, 2016 his oldest son was accused by a 6 & 8 year old girl of rape.  He was 16.  I was getting married on November 27th.  At the time this was all accusations, nothing proven, the family of the girls had a history of lying, drugs, etc.  The way the situation went down was odd,  because Dakota babysat for her, but always at his dad or mom’s home.  This particular day the mother insisted it be at her home.  Dakota also had a friend with him.  Within hours she was accusing him. Police got involved.  Tim offered me an out.  He said this is going to be a long road. I don’t want to put you through that. However, Tim was not accused.  He did not commit this act.  I was marrying Tim, not his children. Children grown up and move away, but your spouse you are one with, and it did not change how I felt about Tim, and I was willing to weather any storm with him.

I married, the wild fires took place in Gatlinburg on November 26th, and I really had no where to return too, nor did I want too.  Within 3 months of being married, going though Department of Children’s Services, numerous challenges.  It was decided (at the time) there was no evidence to support Dakota had done anything, and all the kids (mine, his previous, his, etc.) had backed up Dakota’s statements.  UNTIL there was concrete evidence that there was DNA evidence to prove that he had committed the crime.  He was immediately locked up and is still today.

However, over a year and a half into him being locked up, they were discussing releasing him into our care.  They asked us to come get his belongings.  While he was locked up at this facility he had to write letters to his victims, about his victims, every detail, etc.  It was part of the treatment.  He gave us all those papers to bring home.  I was reading them and learned he raped my daughter.  So, this changed everything, because, I was to watch him during his after care.  I told Tim, there was NO WAY.  The courts kept pushing that he be 100 percent supervised by a relative in Arkansas only, and that left us.  No one, not the courts, or attorneys, or the person who did the risk assessment asked me how I felt.  But not knowing what was going to happen, Tim and I bought Alexandra a camper and moved her to Texas near my parents where she found a job she loved.  She had her own plans though, she met a guy online, in Kansas, and moved her camper there.  She is now engaged to this guy and will get married in September.  She did not like living in Kansas though so we brought her camper back to our land (we live in the country), and she moved back home with us.  Just ask she got home, the courts once again started pushing Dakota come home, but in his facility, he has got his license, has over $2000 in savings, has a job, and even though it is a child facility and he will be 21 in May everyone is routing for him to do his aftercare where he is, keep his job, get his own apartment.  We want him as far from his victims as possible.

The case, is weird, because they didn’t know if he was tried as an adult or a child.  We had a paid attorney and wanted a court appointed attorney after three years, because it was expensive, and they said if he is tried as a child we can’t switch his attorney, but if he is an adult we can. Then they switched his attorney, but classified him as a child.  He now has another paid attorney that he is paying for.  They don’t know how to register him, because if he is a child then when he turns 21 he is done and does not have to register, if he is an adult, he will be the highest class registered sex offender.  They say, children 90 percent reform, it is flopped for adult, they only 10 percent reform.

In any case, this is long enough and I will write more soon.

Log in to write a note

Wow! I am glad you stuck it through! Way to go hon!! I often wonder what my ex is doing and how he is… I miss him so much, y’know?

January 4, 2021

Wow this was one hell of a story. I’m glad you could see it through.

Best wishes…