When you don’t exist

I’ve been writing in Open Diary since about 1998. As you can see if you look at my history, those old posts are gone.

Where did they go?  Poof!

they say the internet is forever, but I am proof that it is not. I had a ton of activity here and on other websites that I cannot access anymore. Poof.

so, I write again, hoping to etch my Permanence in this ever changing world.

did people notice when I disappeared. I am positive that they did. But, as sands through the hour glass, so goes the days of our lives. A week. A month. A year. A few years. Are we erased from memory?

you find someone here, someone important to you. But then they disappear. Then what?  Were you ghosted?  Did something happen to them?  Can you find them?  Would you even know where to Look?

 

do we even exist if this is where we live our lives?

Log in to write a note
August 28, 2023

I’ve been writing online since ‘00, mostly over at diaryland. Thankfully I’ve been able to retain most of what I’ve written, but I do wish I had access to old photos I posted on social media. Most of the photos of my early 20s existed in spaces like friendster (quite the throw back there) and I wish I still had access to them.

August 28, 2023

@the-idiot I did most of my writing on The Experience Project. They purged anything they deemed ‘adult’ so a of of my stuff just got dumped.  C’est la vie.

August 28, 2023

Well…. welcome back…. did you do the diary recovery? I had to but all mine were there… or at least seem to be lol

August 28, 2023

@ccmarie05 I did do the diary recovery. It was empty. 🤷‍♂️. I’m sure my writing was torture and melancholic back then anyway. But I would love to read it.

August 29, 2023

“But, as sands through the hour glass, so goes the days of our lives.” As I read this line, I could hear the television speaking those words. Those will forever be etched in the memories of many.

I’ve been on OD since way back.  I could have swore I signed up for the life time…but no proof.

My entries are gone as well. Would be so nice to read them and see how far my life has come.

August 29, 2023

@thespiritwithinme What if-and hear me out for a second – what if we haven’t changed at all?

August 29, 2023

I’ve also been writing on OD since the mid 90s, & like you … most of those posts are disappeared — POOF!  My external hard drive, where I stored all my photos, died & some things were recovered but not the photos, which breaks my heart & if I had my old posts, I would still have a lot of them.

And I was one of the fools that paid $100 for a lifetime subscription … only to see that go the way of all flesh. {shrug}  Not too impressed with the DM, overall.

August 29, 2023

@ghostdancer I almost paid that $100. Glad I didn’t.

August 29, 2023

I downloaded my diary before it went dormant years ago…although I think they were backed up on a PC long ago gone.  I had a lot of entries with a group on eating well and those are all gone, don’t even know what happened to those girls 🙁

August 29, 2023

@strawberryjelly I often wonder where those people are. They were real people with real thoughts and real feelings.  And we had real conversations and connections. But, time marches on.