Hiking not reading

Last Friday after class I took Isabell on a hike around Marshall Mesa which is just Southeast of Boulder (is it still part of the city??) and over near where I lived two years ago. I wish I had gone when it was still a bit green, but it was also nice not to have to deal with as many bugs. I don’t want to read an article for class just yet and my towel is in the dryer so I can’t shower, so I’m putting pictures here instead. Not good pictures, but I think the Front Range is gorgeous and my crappy ipod pictures are just interpretations.


Brown grass used to be my least favorite part of Colorado, but its kind of grown on me. It was cloudless and just breezy enough to not be sweltering. 
 


 

Marshall Mesa used to be a coal mine until it caught fire. The coal is still burning like a hundred years later and apparently you can occasionally see smoke coming through the seam, but I don’t think it happens often. That’s a ditch in the photo above, but when you’re hiking it’s easy to tell how the land has been shaped from mining. I was really hoping to come across some cows because there is a herd that grazes there, but I didn’t go far enough. 

Maybe I’ll go hike around the Flatirons tomorrow. 

Log in to write a note