Shearlock

So, last week was thrilling. I didn’t mention it in my last entry, but on Tuesday our toilet backed up. YEAH! I hate the water valve thing on the toilet because I can never tell if I’ve turned it off all the way. It’s really stiff, so even if it feels tight, it’s open. Lame. So, the toilet overflowed. Just a little, but any amount is never pleasant. I probably could have fixed the issue myself with some drano and a snake, but the overflow made me anxious enough that I called our landlord. I was also panicked because I had to get to class and write a summary of five articles before leaving. Circumstances! So, some plumbers came over while I was in class and apparently their snake wasn’t long enough so they had to come back the next day. I had disappeared to Fort Collins for my Dad’s birthday and I had to come back early in the morning so that I could be there when the plumbers came back. Of course, they didn’t come back until like 1:30 PM while I was in class and no one else was home. Fortunately, they were able to get at the drain from the roof and when I came back they just checked the water levels and left. I’m still unclear as to who is paying for this. Matt hasn’t said anything to me about it and I haven’t received a bill, so we’ll just have to see, I guess.

I had my first midterm on Friday. It was for Survey Methods. Not too bad, I think, but I’ve noticed that the prof for that class just seeks out ways to knock off points. Like, the little nitpicking things that anyone else would just let go with a note she takes off points for. I accidentally slipped into Marketing-Student mode for the extra credit question and started analyzing brand strategies. Whatever. I just wanted to get out of that classroom, so I didn’t bother fixing anything. 

So I did take Isabell for another hike on Friday, too. We went to the same place, but I took a different trail. I learned that the reason the mountains look hazy (I mean other than the fact that I don’t have a real camera) is that there’s a fire in Wyoming. On the way I stopped by her vet to pick up her vaccination forms. Now I can go get her nails done without people thinking I’m an idiot or muzzling her. 


I just wanted to include that last picture because of the wind turbines. You can’t see them as well in the picture than in real life. I don’t know what’s over there. There’s some oil wells over there, too, so I can’t figure out what the building’s purpose is. I also found a someone’s ridiculously huge house hidden behind that hill. 
 

Log in to write a note
September 23, 2012

So, ah… The plumber actually ADMITTED his snake wasn’t long enough? *snickers* Sorry, I just banished my inner 13 year old to his room without the computer. On a more serious note, I love your photos. I really want to visit that part of the country at some time. It has always fascinated me and I find it incredibly beautiful and so alluring somehow.