I still have a job

Oh goodness.

So last Wednesday a really shitty thing happened at work. This guy came through my line, bought a really petty purchase, and handed me a $50 bill. He then asked me to make change. So I did because usually I don’t have a problem making change for people. But then he asked me to make change another way and he added money to it and asked me to remake the change. He kept doing this and halfway into this little show I realized I was being scammed, but I couldn’t just stop because I didn’t know how much change was in my drawer to start with and I had a line of people waiting.  Afterwards, instead of doing the intelligent thing and telling a manager, I just went on with my night. I was shaken up, but I got through okay. However, I definitely went to bed thinking I would be called into work for questioning or to be fired or something the next day. Nothing. I didn’t work Thursday or Friday. No one said anything yesterday, so I started to think that maybe the change had actually been correct and it was just really weird. Today I had a 7 hour shift and the last fifteen minutes of it I got called into the AP office (you know the folks in Target who walk around looking like police officers) to talk with one of the managers. He asked me if I remembered any details of the incident and then told me what he had seen happen on the video. He didn’t make me feel bad and told me I wasn’t in trouble at all, but I apologized repeatedly. Apparently this guy was also stealing money from the top of my drawer whenever I looked away even briefly (let’s just be clear that I never looked away for any significant amount of time). Our store became aware of it because another Target in the area got hit by him. So. I’m not fired like I was afraid I would be. I think it helped that I wrote about it in my paper diary because I was really, really angry that this guy had taken advantage of me. That helped me sleep, at least. 

Some day I’d like to scan some pages from my paper diary because I think they’re cool. Not my own pages, those aren’t cool, but I got this diary when I graduated to another stage of recovery in IOP. Everyone in the group made pages for us (me and another girl with stepping up at the same time) and then glued them randomly into the diaries so that as we go through and write we come across messages of encouragement and support. Cool, right?

Also just wanted to note that Open Diary got a shout out in my management textbook. It was a section on self-awareness. They credited OD with revolutionizing the reader response. I thought that was interesting. I wasn’t really using the Internet for anything substantial in 1998, though, so I don’t know what other sites were like. I’ve just always been able to respond to things. At least, from what I can remember.

Ugh. Management, though. I had a test for that class on Thursday and it kicked my butt. It was entirely a short-answer/essay test and I read all the articles for the class the day before (when I was simultaneously dealing with guilt and fear from the work incident). Before I bitch any more, I’ll check to see if my grade is posted. Nope. Okay so anyway it was fairly difficult. At least, the two required questions were (there were eight options and we had to answer six of them with two of them being required). I thought one question was unfair. He asked us to list the five characteristics of some stupid thing from the point of view of our textbook authors and then the nine characteristics of the same thing from another author’s perspective and then tie them together with a stupid theory from another person. The average student can’t memorize that many things! Like, of course I’m going to mix things up because the two lists are so incredibly similar that I’m not sure why we had to differentiate between them to begin with. Blah! 

On the bright side, I had two other tests and I aced them both! Woo!

I took Isabell on another hike. She came back happy but with an eye infection. Goodness. This poor dog. Some day I will have the excess money to get her an allergy test and then the proper treatment. In the mean time, I’ll be researching whether there are any human eye drops I can use on her safely. Probably not. She needs an antibiotic one and I’m almost out of her prescription drops. 

Log in to write a note
February 11, 2013

What an ass that guy was. I’m glad you didn’t get in trouble. It could happen to anyone! Haha, yayyy for OD getting a shoutout. I feel like no one knows what it is anymore, which is fine by me. I don’t want anyone finding my diary!