I now go both ways.

And no I don’t mean I like dudes. Sorry to disappoint.

 

I’m referring to my recent acquisition of an Apple computer.

I ever-so-subtly mentioned to my father a few months ago that i he were to get a new Mac in the future, I would gladly take his old MacMini off his hands.

And so, when he recently purchased a new MacBook, the MacMini was mine!

This entry is my first ever blog entry written from Mac OS X Leopard. It’s pretty cool.

The coolest thing is I totally have geeked it up as well. I have limited desk space so a whole new monitor, keyboard, mouse, etc is not gonna work.

So I’ve got my PC plugged in to the DVI connection on my monitor, and the Mac connected to the VGA (with a DVI-VGA adapter since Macs only use DVI).
I have a KVM switch which switches my PC’s keyboard, mouse, and my Harmon/Kardon SoundSticks II speakers between the two computers. So a simple keystroke and an input button press on the monitor and I’m back and forth between the PC world and the new and exciting MacWorld (iWorld?).

On top of that, I’ve networked it all together. My Vista PC, Emily’s XP PC, and my MacMini are all happily sharing files, iTunes libraries, and even my printer (not easy to do: LINK ).

So I finally have the best of both worlds. I’ll post my comparisons after a little time playing with OS X.

Log in to write a note
June 19, 2008

You, sir, just leveled up from super to uber geek. I heard the BWOOSH all the way from here.