Subscription

I am thinking of subscribing and paying the subscription fee.  For a while in the least, I will probably cross post between here and prosebox because I do have some favs over there who made the switch , and will stay.

I have a question: If i pay for the annual subscription, then “cancel” to not have it auto bill next year, I wonder if my subscription would still be good for the duration of the year? I am sad that the free account goes away after thirty days, so still thinking of if this is something that I would do.  I have noticed the website seems to run slow, ( I have a fav i’m reading and literally and behind almost a decade of her life, still working through those entries) .  What is the good, bad , and ugly of subscriptions.  I think I would prefer to stay on OD as my main, mainly because I do have favorites I just found again, and would HATE to lose that.  Its funny, I have been journaling since I was fifteen on this platform, and reconnecting with those familiar stories, people who I admit, from reading and following over here, pop up in my head when something reminds me of them.  When i drive down the dirt road in the winter, and go look at the Eagles Nest with their eggs, I think of one particular person.  Thinking of seeing a play at Detroits fox Theatre, I think of another one.  The turkeys as they start having their babies and playing all around prior to turkey hunting season, and how they disappear.  Maybe that is part of being an introvert.  Or perhaps that was my way of connecting to people without the added ideology of the in person things that make us uncomfortable, or make us nervous.

 

If you have a subscription tell me what you think.  I HATE HATE HATE autobill, even though financially, I am much better now, I was burned too many times in the paycheck to paycheck phase that I want complete control over when bills are paid and when they come out of my account.  the ONLY items I EVER auto bill on my account as of now is my husbands xbox every three months, and my Disney Plus/Hulu streaming and its only 10 bucks.  Thoughts, opinions, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

 

Life has been a whirlwind.  Since the last time I was writing on here, I have lost Z, my first husband, my son’s father, to brain cancer, I have met another man, remarried, have an amazing daughter who i have  been raising since she was three, discovered my husband J was an alcoholic, and the dozens of hospital stays, rehabs, run ins with the police.  We are JUST almost going to be able to close that chapter out as he goes to court to hopefully finalize everything on Monday.  I moved from my homestate of Georgia to Michigan, and discovered winter, snow, how to drive in snow.  I have fallen and had to rebuild eveverything buy cars, maintain bills, re start from the bottom financially, all on my own when J was in the depths of his addiction.  I found I was not weak, lesser, or incapable.  I left the industry I have been in since I was 18, and started completely over in Social work field, with a focus on mental health case management for special needs adults and children .  I work for one of the largest non profit in my state .  My non profit is a contracter for the States mental health organization.  I am proud of where I have been, who I am, and what I have accomplished.  I have found grace, humility, understanding and compassion.  I root for the underdog.  I am not always happy, however I am content in my life.

 

I hope that the transition will be smooth and I think and am willing to pay for a subscription.  I am planning on cross posting so I can save these entries regardless of what I decide.  It just was more comfortable being here.

Log in to write a note
July 20, 2023

Hi! I pay a monthly fee of, like, $3.99 or something. I like that option. I love it here-have been here since 2000, minus the hiatus the site went on. It’s different than it used to be in its glory days…. But you can still find a great community.

I work for a non-profit in NY. I work with people with mental health and intellectual/developmental disabilities. I love that I get to help people and that I never know what the day will bring.

I’m sorry for all your struggles but you seem to be thriving in spite of it all and hope that you are finding peace and happiness on the regular. I look forward to reading more from you!

July 21, 2023

I paid the annual subscription just over a month ago. I believe that paying for a service like this makes me more motivated to write/journal/blog with more frequency. If I’m paying for it, it should be something that I use, right?

I’m sorry that you have fallen, but it sounds like the pieces have been picked up well. I’m glad that you are content; it is something that we should all be 🙂