Mental round-about

I’m finding ways to waste my time this morning. Like this. I got to my desk at 8:00. I think that’s the earliest this week. I was full of hope that I could continue the momentum I built in the last hour of the work day yesterday. Not happening so far. I asked boss a question that I have been meaning to ask all week. And only because he was passing my desk. Hey he’s a busy guy.~~~H was short tempered with S last night. I just sat back – didn’t jump in the middle – and tried to smooth things out. I think H jumps to conclusions about S’s moods. He needs to just sit back and let S be. S wasn’t being disrespectful or anything like that. He was just not engaging and H took that as S’s disinterest in anything H suggested. H took it personally in other words. It wasn’t about him. It was about S’s mind being in too many places at the time. Speaking of which – time to take my pill.~~~OK I’m back. Just did 1 work thing. Now on to another. 2nd work thing done. Here’s a question: What can I do to make myself have a sense of urgency about work items? Usually the thing that lights a fire under me is when I get call out on something that I have not done. Why is that? That has been my M.O. for my whole career. In some cases it has cost me my job. Do I enjoy being scolded like a child? Maybe I do. Maybe that’s the kind of attention I want. At the same time – I get myself all worked up when I know something is going to go down. I scramble. Try to fix. Try to make excuses. It’s a really mentally unhealthy cycle.

Log in to write a note
March 23, 2018

Fear and passion are both great motivators. If you are not in a job that you are passionate about, you will be unmotivated until the fear of getting fired strikes you. Fear/panic is what will motivate you there. I’m the exact same way. If I’m tired, nothing inspires me or gets me moving. Good luck at work! I’m having the same problem today, which is why I’m here commenting on your post instead of getting my work done. lol