Spring break

Spent the past week at the beach in S. Carolina. Was a great break for the kids, H and I. We let the kids each bring a friend this year. I was a little nervous about doing this. H convinced me that it would be good for all of us. And it was. All four kids got along great. The only 2 that didn’t get along on occasion were A and S. Not surprising. The 2 friends they brought are very good kids. Traveled well despite the cramped transportation. H did the majority of the driving both ways. I was the relief driver for 1 to 2 hour stretches when he got too tired. It worked out well for us. Took 12 hours each way. The condo we rented was perfect. Enough space and more than enough amenities. We had some rainy days that we made the most of with bowling and shopping. And there were (thankgod!) sunny days spent on the beach. We arrived in town about 9:30 AM. Had breakfast at a diner that we knew from last year. Good, family place. Off to the condo to check with the cleaning lady.  Unfortunately she wasn’t going to be done until 2 (as advertised). So we hung out on the beach, the deck, the pool. Shopped for a few things. When we finally got in the kids got their rooms all set up. The boys were over the moon that they had xbox, ps etc in theirs. The girls had lots of room to spread out.  The master was beautiful – overlooking the ocean. It was a week of beach and activities and shopping. Fun family vacation. But I must add that truth-be-told it was not the most relaxing time for me. I was busy all the time doing for the kids. I gladly did. And I am beyond grateful that we can do this for them. But I look forward to my girlfriend weekend in July. I look forward to climbing in the mountains with my college friend in August. And I look forward to getting away somewhere with H in the Fall for our 20th wedding anniversary. Just to do whatever I want to do and not worry about cooking for anyone or doing anyone’s laundry.

Life is good dear friends. Life is good.

Log in to write a note
April 30, 2018

I never did have a “family vacation” that was relaxing for me. You just take your “mom” job on the road, and it’s twice as hard. Nice to see everybody else having a good time, though.