Crunchy leaves!

I am so happy to report that they have begun to show up on the ground around these parts. I love the feel of leaves crunching under my feet! Of course, this also means that the leaves still on the trees are being colorful and adding a lovely decorative touch to this overcrowded island, which is in sore need of decorative touches!

Sequences toward silence

Silver sheen glistens
off the sides of slow lugubriously shifting orbs
shapes suspended in sensuous density

Listen to words sliding
slipping down the cliffs of reason
slapping into the sea of obfuscation
going under
too tired to struggle toward the surface

The shapes slow and bubbles form
then disappear
trapped in a chamber for endless viewing

The sunlight of comprehension
a circle shrinking away
then the words’ vision goes
they sink now blind and silent
drowned in their own ineptitude

Becoming

She breathes faith into me
with absolute intensity of purpose
she asks of me to become the woman
I didn’t believe I could be

I have met that woman in the gaze
of other women
quietly drawing me into an understanding
that we are whole
deserving of all the layers and levels
of experience and love and life

It is a calm thing
found in times shared and I am learning
a quality called dignity
and that there is shyness in everyone
my eyes will one day tell you
your own splendor

Log in to write a note

I love the last one, especially, and crunchy leaves, too. I’m glad you enjoyed the site. Have a great Thursday!

October 30, 2003

crunchy eh?

October 30, 2003

“I am learning a quality called dignity” – love it, need it. Am loving the leaves here to – love it when it’s a golden carpet…

I love that last stanza. There is a nip in the air here too, and I see some snow on the peaks across the way. I love all the seasons, they all have a different quality, that is entrancing. The crispness of the air is even entrancing.

October 30, 2003

It’s been so rainy here, the leaves are smushy. With a smile…

October 30, 2003

I love autumn. *sighs dreamily*

Leaves are just now starting to fall here. Little scatterings of yellow and orange – lovely. I really like your whitters today. Hugs,

Yes, the time is perfect for the leaves here too : ) Lovely whitters! Hope your whole day is as lovely as your entry. Hugs and Smiles

October 30, 2003

Mmmm I love crunchy leaves.. and I love the smell of fall.. *smiles*

I have meant to ask you something about the ITW thing. What did Dave say to you that drove you off? I’m just curious because I can’t imagine anyone being rude to you about anything! Hugs,

October 30, 2003

Lovely whittering. I love Fall too (except for the lessening daylight). Happy Thursday, ME.

ryn: My mouth dropped open. I had no idea. He really is very immmature! Good grief!

October 30, 2003

you write so beautifully

October 30, 2003

mm crunchy leaves. know how loud those are in the early morning before anyone else is up? *grin* love your whitters… mm. they’re as lovely as autumn leaves.. hugs,

October 30, 2003

lugubrious! *smiles* You stopped surprizing me with your writing a while ago. I am not accustomed (addicted?) to it’s enchanting power…

October 30, 2003

AHHH! the wonders of ONE LETTER and how it changes it’s meaning completely. I AM ***NOW*** accustomed… not “Not” *hides under the couch behing several tough looking dust bunnies*

RYN re: Dave — I, of course, have no idea why he’d say that to you, but I stopped by his diary a few days ago to leave a link to an article that I thought he’d enjoy. His latest entry was titled “Done” and from the few (of Many, Many, Many) notes I read, it sounded like there’d been some sort of recent controversy there. His dad’s note sounded as if he was trying to be especially “calming” >>>

>>>and encouraging him to rethink his position. I decided not to leave the link. Dave is, I believe, a genius, but I’d also guess he has some fairly severe emotional/psychological stuff going on. I can tell that his mom and dad love and respect him, but there also seems to be a certain “kid glove” aspect to their interactions. Many relationships on that site were “draining” for me, actually.

October 30, 2003

mmmm, crunchy leaves!!! There is nothing like it in the world! 🙂

that’s beautiful 🙂 autumn is great, but we’ve got summer heading straight for us! ::hugs::

Mellow dreams sweet poet:)

October 30, 2003

that we are wholedeserving of all the layers and levelsof experience and love and life i must say this to myself every morning. it is destined to do some good. take care and have a safe weekend. xoxo,

*hugs*

October 30, 2003

ryn: i killed it until it was dead! actually.. i chewed on it some more. But it didn’t bite me back this time! So I let it be. Now it’s lying in state on top of my desk and stickers and phone and pile of blank CDs and paper and pictures and.. wow I have too much stuff on my desk… hugs,

These whitters are lovely! We’ve moved beyond the crunchy leaves to the crunch of snow beneath our feet. Hugs,

I thought “crunchy leaves” was some kind of new Keebler snack cracker. 😀

I love the crunch of leaves beneath my feet also. Laughing at Gattaca’s note. LOL!

October 31, 2003

I have a love hate relationship going with autumn. I love the colors and the crispness of the air and how I feel when I turn my collar up against the chill. but it is also the heralding of the dark days ahead, when I suffer(S.A.D.) without sunshine.(my poetry usually turns much darker around this time of year. the second poem was refreshingly reaffirming. RYN: you haven’t missed it. it’s today!

i love the whitter becoming. that should be my mantra. (smiles) aren’t autumn leaves beautiful. it’s still hard for me to believe it’s fall.

November 2, 2003

all those slippery s sounds. we are going to have snow. it never snows here!

November 5, 2003

I am trying to think I have some discriminating appreciation of novels, which I may or may not have. I am struggling with your poetry (whittering). I would like to think that, hopefully, there is hope.