The art of grief

Something of spectacular beauty.
How to reach across a chasm of time and space and circumstance?
How to understand that which is just so beyond understanding?
My soul laments, and I think I shall look up laments. Women voiced them at their men’s falling. They are classics. If you’ve seen the movie Braveheart (shame, Mel Gibson, was it nipping the holy wine got you in this recent difficulty?) … I haven’t seen it … there is a lament in it, beautiful, sung by Karen Matheson. She has a beautiful voice; does some solo work, but works fabulously in the group Capercaillie.
I believe laments are powerfully healing … a place to pour grief beyond expression, beyond being contained in one human body. Women know grief, and what to do with it: let it pour out from the deepest recesses of our hearts and souls; wail; keen; moan; it rips a person apart, so open up your heart and soul and mind and body, your throat, your mouth, and scream it into the void, the air, the Earth, the sky, the mountains.
Men need to learn this too, I think. Imagine if all our pain and sorrow and anger and hurt could be released through a colossal primal scream. Then there is room for strength to enter; in the act of releasing, we gain strength from the very noise of our emotions.
Lord, I was born a rambling soul.
Peace.

Sponsor Me!

Log in to write a note

keep on bloggin’! Before you know it the birds will be chirping and the sun will come up. K.

you could be right. your writing evokes a lot of vivid imagery.

Oh, yes. you are saying things tonight that I can’t seem to say. I think I need you for this, huh?

I’m so sorry about your friend, M.E. That is so, so hard. I’ll keep them all in my prayers. Even if I’m not writing about it directly, I find myself working through much grief tonight. this has been an amazing process. I think I/we can make it, yes? Seven more hours?

July 29, 2006

We lived in back of a hospital mortuary in our fist apartment in Seoul, Korea. The moaning and wailing was tremendous at times. Both the men and women did it. It was a cultural shock for this stiff upper lip eastern American. Contrary to what others may think, Koreans are very emotional and fun loving. I often think of them as Asian Irish.

July 30, 2006

And Another One Folláin