Thises and Thatses (edited with another This)

Part of an ad on a bus stand seen on my climb toward my office (from a faulty memory, so paraphrased):

“I was thinking of following my dreams but they’re not on the way to my job.”

Cute, huh?

So here’s some stuff I’m thinking about lately as I face a large task in organizing the contents of this diary to date, and who should be able to access it, and all sorts of stuff:

Why do I have a presence here?
What do I want to share here?
With whom do I want to share it?
How should I use this space?
What’s it all about, Alfie?

I know it looks like a Journalism 101 lesson, and a flunked one at that as I’ve left off a couple of Ws and tossed in an H. But it’s all a bit bewildering at times. And I’ve never been very good at taking proper care of myself and my stuff. So now I want to be, because both my stuff and I seem worthy of being taken care of. (Let it dangle.) I have a whole new crop of issues to deal with just now. Including the fact that other than some whitters addressed to Follain, I’m not all that interested in whittering just now. And if stuff is addressed to Follain, why would I put it up here?

I started doing that “What I want to say to my favorites” exercise that’s been popping up all over, but since I prattle quite enough in notes to them, and there are many of them although some of them are not writing at the present time, or at least not so that I can see … well, it seemed to be rapidly getting out of hand, sort of like this sentence, and I’ll just come along and leave copious notes and tell them what I want to tell them the way I always have.

I figure hey, what’s here is here. There will be just some stuff that won’t be here. Or there either! It will be in that other there; yeah, that one.

I am very, very grateful that this is Friday. I am supposed to be going to a get together tonight. An enormous part of me doesn’t want to go, and it’s not just because of my antisocial bits. I have some major issues with the traveling distance and time, and although I finally had a decent night’s sleep last night, I am still a bit under the effects of a couple of lousy semi-sleepless nights. I might just really pull an absolutely-at-the-last-minute bailout. I’ll have to see how I’m feeling at the end of the workday. I might also go on this incredibly long trip (involving a subway to the end of its line followed by a bus ride), contribute what I ought to, and leave. That would be really silly, wouldn’t it?

Okay, that’s enough out of me. Happy Friday to anyone who pops in here.

Edit

Check this out, please:

NY Times editorial about Disney’s idiocy and greed and censorship and … grrrrrr. This particular thing going on right now really ticks me off. It would even if I didn’t think that Michael Moore is among the best minds thinking and creating in the world today, especially in the U.S. of A. Even if I wasn’t having an exceptionally grumpy day. More and more, I get the feeling I am living in a dictatorship rather than a democracy.

However, there is a good thing about this. I am learning droves of stuff right now, and paying attention to the news. Yes, it does tend to look extremely bleak, but if more of us don’t pay attention to it, it’s only going to get a thousand times worse. So … yeah.

Now … can anyone tell me how one does the thingie with the link so the new page opens up on its own? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You may now return to your regularly scheduled whatevers. Oh right … that’s where you are already! Thwack on side of head. Back to work.

Log in to write a note
May 7, 2004

I am glad you have decided to keep posting here (I think that is what you said LOL)I do enjoy reading your entries. Have a great weekend.

May 7, 2004

Good luck sorting it all out. With a smile…

Here’s another for your list: What if the Hokey-Pokey really is what it’s all about?I hope your TGIF evening is filled with what your heart truly desires.

May 7, 2004

now I will be singing Alfie for the rest of the day! I have faith in you…. for sorting things out and finding out the answers or at the very least figuring out what the questions are.

May 7, 2004

RYN re R: I think the best thing for me to do is to let the hurt subside from the relationship with D not working out. When the time is right, I hope I’ll know. Loving someone enough to let them go is hard, I tell you. With a deep sigh…

May 7, 2004

Life is short – do what makes you feel best tonight.

You should take care of your stuff. What you call whitters is superb poetry. Okay this can be an odd place now and then. Ignore the glitches and continue to do your own thing. Take care of you. Warm hugs

Wonderful that you are planning how to take good care of you and of your great poetry. I’m taking inventory and making new choices too. Hope your TGIF is grand and the sleep better too : )

May 7, 2004

have a good weekend 😉

A few violations of my “inner peace” space made me rethink how and what I put out on Open Diary and who I allow to see what I put out. Unfortunately, those who do not sometimes find themselves subject to intended or unintended bad consequences. Take care of thyself, is my advice. And, what Cara said about your poetry/whitters is true.

I’m glad you added another “this” : )

May 7, 2004

that saying on the side of the bus is really cute, reminds of these commeircals for a college on the raido..

May 7, 2004

Whatever you do with this space I will be happy to read! (To open link in new page/browser just add “target=new” (without the quotes inside you HTML pointer thingies.

May 7, 2004

happy momma’s day ((early)). *hugs and eskimo kisses*

May 7, 2004

First you do a “copy” (right click on the http address), then when you’re in “Write and entry”, right under bold, italic and underline there is a straight line (give you a…well…a straight line) and a 3 link chain (you click on THIS to connect a link then paste in your http address), then a picture box to put in a picture etc. Whatever you decide to do tonight, I hope you

May 7, 2004

enjoy it….oops….seems I didn’t close the underline html! Take care. :o)

We should live talk sometime soon (phone or IM are both okay for me) I think chatting would be good for both of us. Lesa