Harassment?

 Dear Diary;

I needed that day off from coming here- and I wouldn’t be back here at all if I didn’t actually have something to write about. This week has been hellish. I haven’t enjoyed a single second and I came home in tears tonight from being so stressed out. I’ve worked 10 hour days for the past 3 days and I’ll work another one tomorrow. I was SO tired and stressed out last night that I went to bed at 7:30pm- no exaggeration. I was out like a light- and then awake again at 6am for yet another long day.

I should be in bed right now.

Anyway.. I have this problem. The environment I work in right now has a "scent free" policy. The second day on the job (like.. a month ago) my supervisor mentioned that I smelled like perfume. I wasn’t wearing any- but I went home and changed my laundry detergent and body wash to something less smelly. This week I worked with the Director of the company (and she’s a bitch, btw.. a real snob) and she mentioned to me, not once, not twice, not even three times – but 5. FIVE fucking times she told me that I smelled like perfume. The first day she told me I was shocked because I had already made changes and I couldn’t smell anything. I went home and diluted my laundry detergent and the next day I wore my hair tied back thinking that maybe it was my shampoo (which isn’t especially smelly.. it’s just typical shampoo smell). She mentioned it AGAIN. Today was the last straw though, I wanted to blow up in her face I was so angry. Today she started with.. "who’s wearing perfume?" … and few minutes later.. "Someone is wearing strong perfume.. or laundry soap. Who uses Gain?"- the three of us sitting at the table all smelled our own shirts.. looked at each other with puzzled looks (but of course, I know she’s aiming these questions at me). I swear to God she wouldn’t let it go for like.. 2 hours. She complained that she had a headache and that her face was frozen on one side because of this scent allergy- meanwhile, the three of us are like "we don’t smell anything". When we got up from the table and started walking away, she comes over to me and says "can I smell you? .. *sniff* … YEP. It’s YOU! It’s your sweater!". I was pissed. She was truly not going to let it go and she wanted to make it clear that it was me.

I mean… holy shit. I wanted to yell back at her and be like- I’m NOT wearing perfume and I’ve changed my laundry detergent once already and then diluted it even more! I don’t use smelly soaps and my shampoo is just plain ol’ pantene. WHAT else can I do?? What do you want me to do? Seriously?

Anyway, I came home and was in a bad mood and I mentioned to mom not to throw any of my clothes in with hers anymore because I needed to re-wash every piece of clothing I own with some new, unscented detergent (which I haven’t bought yet…). Then she got mad at me for taking out my anger at her- when all I did was ask her not to do my laundry! Most people wouldn’t get upset over that. So I went into the bathroom and cried- hard- for about 5 minutes. Then I was fine.

If she mentions it again I’m going to fight back, because I’m SICK of this. Laundry detergent isn’t cheap and I’m not about to buy a hundred different kinds to try to please her. I’m going to tell her that it’s starting to border on harassment and that if it’s that big of an issue then she either needs to stay away from me or buy me the kind of detergent she uses because I’m not spending any more money.

Ridiculous. It makes me so mad.

Okay.. I seriously need to sleep now cause I have to get up in 6 hours and work a 10 hr shift at two different places in two different cities.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 3, 2010

That is ABSOLUTELY ridiculous. *hugs* Have you ever tried Charlie’s soap? It’s pretty cheap as far as “unscented” goes and does a great job. (I get mine off of amazon.com FYI) That’s what I wash our laundry in. I hope your boss knocks it off though, it’s just she’s out to intimidate you just because you’re the newbie.

December 3, 2010

That’s insane…a work place can enforce a scent free policy but they can’t dictate which products you use at home. Definitely stand up to her…I had one of these at work once…I bought her a box of allergy pills and told her to drop it. She never mentioned it again.

December 3, 2010

I’d say that’s harassment. I’m not sure there are any unscented shampoos on the market and in my experience with “unscented” laundry soap, they’re truly not. Even the baby laundry soap still has a smell to it. Maybe if she’s THAT sensitive to smell she shouldn’t be working. She can’t be healthy if she has facial droop.

You might ask her what kind of laundry soap she uses on her clothing, since that doesn’t seem to bother her. I worked with someone with a severe sensitivity to scents and I was amazed at what she smelled that nobody else could. I mean, it was really crazy. She’d get these terrible headaches, sneezing, and sometimes she’d break out in a rash. One gal had some kind of deoderant that wraked havoc onher system. Who knew deoderant could have such an affect on someone? I’m moderately sensitive. When I worked at the local church, I’d come into my office on Mondays and (in my opinion) it would smell so bad my nose would get plugged up and I’d start sneezing! It was from the door being open when church was going on the day before. Everyone all gathered into one place with all those mixutres of perfume, hairspray, shampoo, soap, etc. Made me want to gag.

December 3, 2010

wow I can’t believe that b*tch – it’s so horrible that she’s singling you out! But if your office has a ‘scent free’ policy then you’ve got to change something. Is there anyone else you can talk to [besides her] about what detergent, deoderant, shampoo, etc. you should use? Or what other people use in the office?

December 4, 2010

I agree with your other noters. Ridiculous.