Contact

So he reached out to me yesterday via email.  Said that the money he owes me should be clear in his bank by yesterday or today.  Asked me whether I wanted him to mail it or leave it in my mailbox.  I told him whatever was easier but to please do it soon because I need to get things done in the house.  

He asked what was wrong with the house and I said it was all the things that needed to be done.  He said he would do it for me to save me money.  I declined saying I really didn’t think his wife would want him in contact with me or helping me out and I really didn’t want to cause anymore trouble there.  I also said I needed to handle these things on my own now.  I also asked him why he wanted to help me any way.  He said because he wanted to, that he still cared, blah, blah, blah.  That he wants to be friends, that he needs to get his head clear and stop trying to drink his demons away "just like you have been telling me forever."  

Yeah, whatever.  I again recommended he reconsider therapy – because he really needs it.

Friends?  I don’t think so.  Not right now, that’s for sure.

Log in to write a note

Honey – forget the money! Don’t counsel him. Don’t reinvite him into your house or your life. You do NOT want to stay friends. He is a manipulator to the nth degree. He does NOT want what’s best for you. He does NOT care about you. He cares about what you can give him. He’s a narcissist. The world revolves around him – and you have already spent WAAAAAY too much of your time hoping thathe would somehow get fixed by being ‘loved enough’. Mark my words – he will use this money thing to keep you linked to him. Is it worth it? Really, really worth it?