Pretty on the Outside

So it’s the throes of winter over here in Ohio right on the boarder of Lake Erie. That’s what happens in January a lot of the time. We have lots of snow that is absolutely gorgeous to look at but sucks balls to shovel or drive in a lot of the time. My boys are still on vacation, they’re supposed to go back tomorrow. Do you know what happens tomorrow? There is supposed to be an even colder cold front going through that will make the wind chills too cold for the kids to have school. Ugh. I love and adore my boys but they’re getting on each other’s nerves and I’m ready for a nice break through out the day that comes when they’re in school.

Also we are running out of groceries which means a trip to the store is in order but shopping with them you would think was the equivalent to walking on hot lava for 5 hours. I try my hardest to not take them with me because it’s miserable for everyone.

A nice bonus to working at the library is I’m constantly there and sometimes the boys come up there as well, or I take them up there and we get lots of DVDs out for them to watch since we don’t have cable. Our library has this awesome feature called Library Rewards that gives you points for items checked out that you can reward for discounted or free things around town. The boys favorite is free pizza and free froyo. I should do that soon. They also do bogo tickets for the movies here too, which we have used and love but I’m cheap and only go on Monday when it’s $5 and they have a popcorn and drink combo for $5. So we missed those this week, I was going to take them last week but the kids didn’t really want to go and it was snowing like crazy.

Change of topic: I’m starting up a new reading challenge this year. Actually I think I’m going to try and do two of them but do them together because the second one I found seems pretty awesome and was put together by a library. I set my usual goodreads goal of 125. I think that should be a good amount. I’ve also got a couple books ordered through my library to start some of that off. I’m excited. I’ve already finished up two books so far this year but haven’t used either of them in the challenges. I might, I might not. Who knows?


We had a pretty great Christmas and New Years. Kids got mostly what they wanted, I’m happy with life in general right now so I don’t need much more. I was greatly blessed by my aunt and uncle and by a coworker. Things are good. And I made two recipes that I loved- a chili cheese dog bake and a cinnamon Roll French toast bake. Both were hits with the family. I’m going to try to make at least 3 new recipes this month too. One of them is going to be this chicken and dumplings recipe from fb. I’m forever finding amazing sounding stuff on there but don’t really make them which is dumb since I probably have hundreds saved. Time to start fixing that. I will say that every thing I have tried to make that I found on there has been absolutely delicious so far, which has been maybe a handful of recipes.

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2018

It is beautiful here but too cold right now. I think we are neighbors.

January 3, 2018

I worked with the Cleveland Clinic years ago, and remember visiting one of their hospitals right beside the lake. It was January, -10F with the wind chill, and the lake was frozen solid. A desolate waste of snow blowing across the ice, and the patient rooms in the cancer unit overlooked it! I insisted that they turn the beds away from that desolate view, and put bright colors and artwork on the walls. Who wouldn’t give up the will to live staring out at that!

That is an absolutely gorgeous photo!! The deep freeze hit us here in Central Florida. It’s currently 48F which is crazy at mid-day for a FL winter. Freezing temps at night. I’m grateful for the respite from our summers but I didn’t want to be transported to the North Pole either!!