Gone Home – Possibly the only game that matters.

Stop reading this, open this link, purchase Gone Home and play it.

http://store.steampowered.com/app/232430/

If for some reason you do not understand these instructions, you may read these notes out of context if you wish, with the knowledge that you will never gain my respect until you play this game.

I’ve just completed it.
It was the most wonderful game I’ve ever played and it tells the most intimate of stories. Nuanced, delicate, bold – I’ve been left breathless.

One part of me is so humbly grateful that I was alive to see the game’s inception and creation. I’m so thankful that I’m so fortunate – an accident of the timing of my birth, to have been able to experience it.

Then I ask myself – why has it taken us so long to cultivate this kind of game? If you wanted to make games and you didn’t want to make this kind of story, why not? Why haven’t we told this story before – why haven’t we heard this story from someone and empowered, mentored and assisted them in every way we could to create this game?

Have we been suppressing it so long?
We have.
We have.
I’m deeply upset that we have.
I’m distraught.
All I feel is distress and anger and sorrow.

I have never felt such revulsion for an entire culture as I do at this moment. I almost wish I had never played any games in my entire life. In the contemporary age of cognisance and progressiveness, we have systematically dehumanized, suppressed and made invisible real living breathing human beings.

I have been crying for half an hour and I can’t stop.

I’m giving away my consoles. Like a religious convert I feel they are demonic objects in my house.

I don’t ever want to play another game again unless it is about something true, something intimate, and something that doesn’t crush the life out of wonderful people who generously want to share their experiences, create something intelligent and amazing and nurture a culture of cognisance, embrasure, introspection, patience, self-criticism and cultural criticism.

This diary is now closed.
All new entries will be favourite/reader login access only until further notice.

Log in to write a note