Portage

I can feel the days of Open Diary being numbered.
It’s quite upsetting.
Even if it stays standing, the reliability of the servers now seems to be shaky.
It was inevitable, I guess.
Such a grand old place can only stand for so long until people’s needs evolve.
I had always perceived Open Diary to be a place for pure writing, or, at the least, pure presentation without pretense.
While I cannot speak for other users, this has been my conduct thus far.

So once again, Nav and Vroenis will combine into one space unless I deem it necessary to separate them once again.
For the moment I am in the process of curating what I regard to be the most important works from both and porting them to tumblr.
This carries the caveat that tumblr is blocked at work, but I’ve fewer reasons to write while at work, or to upload rather, as one may always draft first and post later.

There seem to be so few.
So few who only have the words.
I play board games, run activities and another tumblr around them, and participate in cultural criticism when I see my friends.
Nevertheless, I feel I will always be in need of a space for the words and the words alone.
A place without excess.
A place starved of the noise of interaction.
Isolated, disconnected.
So much so that I have started several projects without alerting anyone of their existence and will not do so. They will remain as they are, buried in digital ether, never to be connected with a creator nor a culture.

I am beginning to see art this way, that there should only be the art.
I want to be consumed by what I write.
I would that it devour me until there is nothing of me left.
Only the work.
Only the words.

Log in to write a note