אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl Pg 11

Wow! Things are getting tough.

My father always used to tell me, to go over whatever I learned that day, later that night. Damn I wish it was possible to find the time and energy to go over all the things that I am learning.

Okay that is just a lame excuse, because there is always time, I just choose to focus on other stuff. Well no more…

Today in Hebrew, I realized that I didn’t to the homework that we were meant to do…But Mora obviously went over it and while she was doing that, I started to work ahead and was actually able to quickly do the work…and in typical fashion got it all right!! I was always the smart kid in class. And then she did an exercise where we had to read some Hebrew and out of the whole class…I was about 1 of the 3 that could actually read the Hebrew questions and answers.

At the end of that Hebrew lessons I logged off with a Happy Christmas on my face… now all I want to do is pick up the phone and say a bunch of Hebrew words to father…that obviously won’t make much sense…so I guess I will just recite a few words until I can make a coherent sentence to say to me.

Every Hebrew lesson we start of with greeting each other and Mora will call someone out and ask if they have any news…today this other student told us that she dyed her hair dark brown today…she said it all in Hebrew, and of course Mora was impressed with her, but I felt a lil jealous and wished I could say a full sentence in Hebrew…well I could and can but when I do say something in Hebrew, it seems like Mora brushes past me and searches for someone else to focus on. Later the student fessed up and told us that her Israeli Father in Law taught her the sentence. Well good for her for learning it. As jealous as I may I have felt, this did push me to want to dedicate more time to studying Hebrew and Judaism.

During Jewish Studies tonight I did learn quite a bit more about Shabbat…stuff that I didn’t know…

Believe it or not there is no place in the Torah where Jews are told to light candles for Shabbat.

MoiNonPlusIt all stems from the High Rabbis declaring it a ritual, and it is said that laws spoken from the Rabbi is the same as a law declared directly from Hashem. The light from the candles it to symbolize Shabbat and honor it and its delight. The 2 explanations, like in so many other laws in Judaism, explains why it is always a minimum of 2 candles. There are 2 reasons why Shabbat is celebrated.

  1. For Hashem created the World in 6 days and rested on the 7th; Jews recognize this and so will praise Hashem for creating the World and will remember and recognize the 7th day as the day of rest.
  2. To remember how Hashem lead the Jews out Slavery in Egypt.

While partaking in tonight’s class…and while the Rabbi spoke about the different elements in having Shabbat at home and he spoke about the different prayers to recite for the Wife and the Husband and the Children, part of me wondered how will this be continued in any home that I may have. My husband is Christian and as much as he respects Judaism and me becoming Jewish, he will always stay true to his Christianity and so I don’t even see myself being able to have a fully Jewish home.

In a perfect World I see my kids going to a Jewish School, me having a Jewish Home and being all Sacred to Hashem. But right now I do feel slightly deprived from all of that, because I have chosen to love a Christian man. But I am sure that when time comes and when I am ready, I will have it all in some way, with my Christian Husband.

 

Log in to write a note